Way to have AU's affect iTunes output?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Sesshi, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #1
    Is there a way for AU plugins to affect iTunes audio output? I'm not sure if I asked this before but I would like to know thing.
     
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    I've used Audio Hijack Pro to do that on occasion.
     
  3. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #3
    I saw that method before, wondered if there was a better way. What (if any) reprecessing takes place between the output of iTunes, going through Audio Hijack on it's way to the VST or AU plugin? Are the bits molested in any way?
     
  4. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #4
    It doesn't try to do anything but reroute the bits it received unless filters are turned on. You will of course need enough spare CPU to run all the filters you want without skips, but Audio Hijack itself doesn't eat very much.
     
  5. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    I hope so. Unfortunately I haven't quite mastered being a po-faced audiophile so I'm subjecting the iTunes output to a subtle amount of Linear Phase EQ shaping. Thanks for the posts.
     

Share This Page