WC3 - How to create a Lan network through internet?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Other.au, May 23, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #1
    I would like to play with friends who do not have access to battlenet without having a direct connection.

    How do you create a LAN network over the internet using IP addresses etc?

    Two of those people have a PC and I have a mac.

    I would appreciate your help.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Why do you want to make this over the Internet? Just make a simple LAN game, there’s no need to connect to Battle.net.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #3
    Because we arent all in the same location and only one of us has access to battlenet.

    WC3 restricts you to Local Area Networks or Battlenet to play multiplayer games.


    So how do you create a LAN game when you are all in different areas. I know its possible, i just dont know how.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #4
    What exactually are you trying to do?

    You want to have a LAN game over the Internet?

    Why don't you just have everyone join Battle.net and setup a custom game?

    In what way do you mean they don't have access to it?

    If you wanted to share a LAN online that might be a silly, unsecure idea, which at this point I'm not sure is necessary
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #5
    My friends dont have access to battlenet as mentioned above. Hence creating custom games on BNET is not possible.


    Ill paraphrase my question. How do you create a local area network for WC3 when those wanting to create the network are in different locations.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #6
    Why don't they have access?

    I don't know of a way to do this LAN in different locations, kinda defeats the object of LAN (Local Area Network)

    It is possible but only if you get an ethernet cable and take it to your friends house and plug it into his computer :rolleyes:
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #7
    Exactly, I think your looking for a WAN option.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #8
    1. Their CD keys were banned.

    2. Blizzard removed support for IP address type games in WC3. Thus the only method to play internet games without Bnet is through a fake LAN network that tricks WC3 into thinking the players are physically connected to each other.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #9
    BTW - one of these players lives in a different country altogether.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #10
    exactually, Battle.net is for long distance playing, LAN is not, they have to be in the same area or house to do that :)
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #11
    I was kinda being sarcastic :p

    But if your not going through B.net then it has to be that way

    Again what is the problem with the others joining Battle.net? :confused:
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #12

    I.e. Their CD keys were banned. =)
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #13
    LOL :D

    At this point they might aswell buy new games (CD Keys)

    Because that is alot easier to do they finding a work around

    Sorry, but thats the only way to my knowledge :(
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #14
    Does anyone know what they are talking about? Lol.

    Key word: a "fake" local area network.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #15
  16. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Aus
    #16
    Thanx
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    #17
    Yup, the program is called Lancraft and it works like a charm...
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #18
    You made me curious. I tried it with my friend, but we couldn't see each others games. He runs a PC and we tried BattleLAN and LANcraft, I use Farsight. I opened the port 6112 in my Airport base station. What did we forget?
     

Share This Page