WD MyBookLive TimeMachine Backup Fix

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by elgrecomac, Nov 14, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    After a couple of weeks of frustration about OSX 10.9 not allowing me to use my WD MybookLive NAS for TimeMachine backups I said " Phoque it. I'll reinitialize the drive and start from scratch". (Luckily I have a full backup of this drive's non-TimeMachine content backed up on another drive). So I...
    * Did a factory reset of the drive.
    * Made sure the NAS has current firmware loaded.
    * Gave the WD MyBookLive NAS drive a new name
    * Recreated all of the users (8 users/devices)
    * Went into TimeMachine and pointed it to the TimeMAchine Backup folder on the NAS

    And Voilà! TimeMachine now works with the WD's MyBookLive NAS. Yes, it was a pain in the azz and now, in addition to having TM run a complete system backup totaling 500Gb, I need to load 1.3 TB of media onto the NAS as well and that is going to take a LONG time.

    The sad thing is that I had to do this in the first place. Not sure where blame lies, Apple or WD, but at least I will soon be fully backuped again.

    BTW....why did Apple get rid of the spinning TM icon? I liked it and so did many others.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #2
    I've had no problems with my MyBookLive and Mavericks. I updated to the latest WD firmware before I ran Time Machine and it works fine. However I did have to delete my pre-Mavericks backup and start a fresh one. But since then its been fine. Strange as you are not the first to report problems.

    Hoping Apple restores the spinning ™ icon
     
  3. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    Isn't it WD that's having so much trouble with their add on software running under Mavericks?

    I bought a couple of WD drives before I upgraded to Mavericks. Fortunately I didn't install any of their "software" junk.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #4
    I believe so. I never install 3rd party stuff unless its absolutely needed. Also reading thru the WD forums there are reports of Norton and McAfee anti-virus software causing time machine problems.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    #5
    I resolve the issue by simply reboot WD My Book Live.
     

Share This Page