We Made Red!!!!!

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by MacBandit, Feb 13, 2004.

  1. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #1
    I just checked the folding.extremeoverclocking.com site and it shows us at 32,000+ points in the last 24hours. I wish I could say I contributed a large part of that but lately I haven't had as many machines to do my dirty work.

    Good job to everyone though.
     
  2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    Its short lived, though. If you check the team stats we had a 16k day the day before. Looks like there was a server fart and all the WUs that didn't get uploaded previously, swarmed in and gave us a good bump up.

    Now if we can do it 2 days in a row I'll have to come up with another explanation :D

    D
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    I've long-running, high point value WUs running now. I got rid of a 70.77 point WU yesterday. Perhaps, it's similar all over and we'll have more peaks and valleys for a while, averaging us back in the orange.
     
  4. MacBandit thread starter macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #4
    Agreed I have been getting the large work units as well. I like them personally I can turn out more points with the large ones in a day then I can with multiple short work units.
     
  5. shemp9999 macrumors regular

    shemp9999

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #5
    that was 1.5 days worth of wu.

    i'm doing over 1200 a day now, and it looks like that might stick - thanks to that last dual G5. :D

    i've been surrounded by 48 GHz of xeon power (12x2x2GHz) all week. been fighting all kinds of urges to add them to my queue. ten minutes is all i'd need :p

    but i just don't feel right using machines outside my general department. i could get away with using hundreds of GHz - for a while. that reminds me of the ethics question here the other day...my answer would be - i'd sell a machine as is, daemons be damned. wipe it if you want, luser. but i would.

    back on message, these are pipeline training boxes. all i need is some inquisitive new kid asking what the proc heavy FAHCore processes are...i fear they wouldn't grok the idleness of it all. so i shan't get greedy.

    would't it be cool to double the points, though.

    hey; maybe i'll figger out how to launch at 6pm and kill at 9 am? my ethics might fit that under their frock. :D

    would these be the appropriate crontabs?

    15 18 * * * cd ~/.fah/fah1; ./fah4 -local -advmethods -forceasm
    15 18 * * * cd ~/.fah/fah2; ./fah4 -local -advmethods -forceasm
    45 8 * * * killall fah4
     
  6. MacBandit thread starter macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #6
    No as stated by the site that was 24 hours worth of production. Just so happens we had a couple of large hours at 2 or 3 in the morning that drove our 24 hour total way up. If you took the normal day though from midnight to midnight it was lower but from 3-3 it was 30k+.
     
  7. jbeetz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #7
    That's close, but with cron I've found that you have to be VERY explicit about the path. Replace the ~ with /Users/username. And be sure to redirect the output to /dev/null and background the process. I don't know where cron puts stdout if you don't send it to /dev/null. Also, to let machines run non-stop through weekends, replace the third * with 1-5 on each line.

    so try this...

    15 18 * * 1-5 cd /Users/username/.fah/fah1; ./fah4 -local -forceasm > /dev/null &
    15 18 * * 1-5 cd /Users/username/.fah/fah2; ./fah4 -local -forceasm > /dev/null &
    45 8 * * 1-5 killall fah4

    I tested it by setting the launch time a minute ahead of the time of day then making sure the processes launched. Took some trial and error but it does work!
     

Share This Page