weak signal on airport

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by proverbs, Jun 5, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #1
    i got my sister a wireless airport card for her G5 and i noticed that it stays on 1 bar. she said that the internet runs really slow sometimes and i'm guessing that's because of the weak signal. i brought my powerbook in her room and i have a full 5 bar signal, so i know its not the distance. did i do something wrong on the install?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    So close to Redmond, I can smell it!
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #3
    the card is in her PowerMac G5 desktop and she seems to always have 1 bar...but when i go into her room with my powerbook, i have full 5 bars...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #4
    maybe i just have to tighten the card??
     
  5. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    As mentioned in the post above: does she have the external antenna connected to the back of her G5? It looks a bit like a "T" and is required for Airport reception of any real strength. it came with her G5.
     
  6. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    In other words, something must be plugged into the top jack in the image below.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #7
    yes, it is connected. could there be another reason?
     
  8. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    I suppose it's possible that the body of the G5 is blocking the signal - any chance that the wireless router is blocked by the PowerMac? Does rotating the PM's body make a difference?
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #9
    Another possibility....

    Open up the G5 and check that the card is seated correctly and the internal antenna wire is plugged into the Airport card.


    aussie_geek
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    jalagl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #10
    It can be lots of things - I recently relocated my Powerbook to a new desk, that is in a different position than where it was before. This cause the signal to drop from full to only 1-2 bars, and I keep having problems with disconnections to the internet. If I move a couple of meters back, to where the old desk use to be (a space now occupied with my bed), I get a full signal again.
    My Windows laptop, sitting right next to the Powerbook, gets a very decent signal (not full, but at least 3/4).

    These are the strange things about wireless networks. I would suggest moving the G5 around a little bit

    Me? I'm going to buy a range extender for my router to ensure I get full signal everywhere in the house from now on.
     

Share This Page