Weather Widget Problems

Discussion in 'macOS' started by besler3035, Jul 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. besler3035 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #1
    In Apple's Weather widget, my extended forecast has been showing up today as starting with Wednesday. It's Saturday, so it should start with Saturday and continue on.

    Is this a common thing people have noticed today, or is it just me? Is there any fix I can do for this?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Hmm... Maybe click on it and press APPLE-R. Or delete it and then drag a new one in.
     
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    besler3035 In Apple's Weather widget, my extended forecast has been showing up today as starting with Wednesday. It's Saturday, so it should start with Saturday and continue on.

    Is this a common thing people have noticed today, or is it just me? Is there any fix I can do for this?


    Yea I have noticed that as well. It may just be the widget
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Well I'm getting Sunday (which it is :p ) so sorry, but no problems here.
     
  5. besler3035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #5
    Looks like it's fixed - must have been just a AccuWeather bug.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    It's quite ridiculous how often they get things wrong. :(
     
  7. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
  8. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #8
    Did you press Command+R?
     
  9. deryk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Denver
    #9
    Mine has never worked well, even pressing command R. The temp in denver is always 10 degrees less than it really is.
     
  10. besler3035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
  11. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #11
    Duff-Man says...I noticed earlier today mine was showing back to wednesday as well - I just checked it again and it is okay now. Whenever the weather widget goes flakey the first thing I try is re-selecting my city in it...that usually fixes any trouble....oh yeah!
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Mine is saying it is Wednesday, too... but I think it's just the days that are off, because it seems to be todays weather and the next 6 days forecast.

    BTW: Choosing the place again didn't help. And if I choose a new place that too shows Wednesday... so I guess it's just the days that are confused...
     
  13. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #13
    Looking at the widget, it's just passing along whatever day names Accuweather hands it. Maybe Apple should start looking into other weather services, this one is wacky.
     
  14. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Yeah you might be right. I've got 4 weather widgets in Dashboard - 2 are showing Thursday and 2 showing Sunday - and they keep moving.
    Time for a change.
     
  15. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #15
    Apple-R does not fix the problem for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. dirt farmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #16
    I just noticed this same thing an hour ago. Trashing the weather widget .plist solved the problem for me.


    edit: now, however, the problem has returned!
     
  17. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #17
    Worked for me.

    Edit:: No it didn't. Woke up to all 4 of my weather widgets displaying the same city, and using degrees Fahrenheit instead of Celsius.
     
  18. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #18
    Weird, I have many of the above-mentioned issues but only w/ my PB not on my iMac. After trying all the suggestions w/ no improvement, I decided to change the city (to a nearby city) and voila! Good as new.
     
  19. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #19
    I have also noticed problems.
    I have two Australian cities presently... and one is fine - and the other is stuck as mentioned above.

    CMD + R didnt help
    Revalidating the city, didnt help...
    created a new widget for that city - that didn't help either.

    Had two widgets for the same city - one displaying C and the other F.
    About 10 mins ago the new one displaying temp in F clicked over to today...
    so I only now have both cities showing the correct day.

    Has been very hit and miss for a long time - so I'm trialling a locally sourced widget at present too... seems much more accurate (temperate wise) as well as always displaying the current day. Only problem is it doesn't yet have forecast or icons. (but uses Aust BOM data source)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page