weather widget

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iTwitch, Jul 14, 2006.

  1. iTwitch macrumors 6502a

    iTwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    East of the Mississippi
    #1
    What's the key combo to change the graphic? I've got the sun showing and it's 2am and pitch black.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Press COMMAND-R when it's selected to reset it. Is this what you mean? :)

    Alternatively, if you hold COMMAND-OPTION down as you click on the top bar of the widget, you can cycle through the various images it offers.
     
  3. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Oooh, swirly! I didn't know it did that.
     
  4. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #4
    smart! thanks...
     
  5. iTwitch thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iTwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    East of the Mississippi
    #5
    What's happening is the widget is showing a blazing sun at 2am when I think it should be the moon or clouds.

    I thought there was a way to set a different graphic. When I use COMMAND-OPTION click the graphic cycles but the location changes to NOWHERE. Resetting the location or waiting for the widget to update resets the location (right one) and the graphic (wrong one).

    I'll try COMMAND-R tonight, oh, I also tried removing the widget (X) and reloading it. Is that similar to COMMAND-R?
    :confused:

    PS. Maybe Baltimore,MD is now the land of the midnight sun. :eek: :D
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6

    Yeah, that's normal (the change to NOWHERE) as it's just showing you the available graphics.



    Same effect but COMMAND-R is probably easier in future.

    Are you sure you have the right location selected? It could be a server-side mistake in which case it'll probably fix itself rather soon, I imagine. :)
     
  7. iTwitch thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iTwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    East of the Mississippi
    #7
    Couldn't remember the commad, but I did recall the swirl. :)

    Yeah, the location is OK hopefully it was a server issue an will clear up. Thanks.
     
  8. iTwitch thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iTwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    East of the Mississippi
    #8
    It's happening again and I think it's happened a few other times. Any other ideas?

    Edit: I just changed the location to seatle clicked done an got the moon, I then enter 21206 into the location and clicked done. For a second the moon graphic was there then it changed to the sun.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #9
    It displays whatever Accuweather tells it to display. Accuweather has had this problem for at least 20 years, I remember one radio station used to comment about it being sunny at midnight all the time. After this long, it's kind of a tradition!
     
  10. iTwitch thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iTwitch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    East of the Mississippi
    #10
    Oh well, if they haven't fixed it I after that long I'll just forget about it. Thanks for confirming it's Accuweather.
     
  11. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #11
    I posted this a while back... you can "hack" your weather widget to include the time when the widget was last updated. Here's how.

    Of course this doesn't change the details coming in from Accuweather, but it does at least show you how old the data is! :cool:
     
  12. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #12
    Are you sure you have the right Baltimore? Check your country carefully.
     

Share This Page