Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
hello everyone.

im trying to rebuild my site. im not very versed in web design or html so im just learning and i could use all the help i can get. anyway... i have this specific problem...

im using dreamweaver ... for my layout im using an image done in photoshop and putting in a layer in dreamweaver. i want to be able to put a dhtml scroll bar inside a certain part of that layer where the image is at. this part is where the audience will scroll up and down to view text and or thumbnails of mine thus saving space and clicking on them to bring up a bigger view of it. my question is ... is this possible? im sure im not going about this right though. whats a better way of doing it? also.. how do you slice your image ....using fireworks to put as your layout on your site? whats the point of doing this other than it loading fast? do you all use layers,frames or tables or what? im very frustrated at this point so please bare with me and help out any way you all can. i need better methods on creating a web site. i dont even know exactly how to make css pages or if they work with my heavy minimalist design layout.

i have more questions but this is a start. thanks in advance for the help. i know some cats in here are good at this stuff... ie ensign, igav, ambitouslemon...etc. etc.

take care.

D0ct0rteeth

macrumors 65816
Mar 11, 2002
Franklin, TN
I reallty havent used fireworks too much... i haven't formed a real valid opinion on it yet.

As far as layers go no professional website uses layers.. its all about tables.

here is a simple step by step checklist i give my students:

design your website storyboards on paper

design those storyboards in photoshop