Webcam for MP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tribe3, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #1
    Anybody using a USB camera (available at Bestbuy or Circuitcity) that actually works with ichat and Photo Booth?

    Brand and model will be highly appreciated.


    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
    #2
    The Xbox Live Vision Cam is cheap, compatible and a decent quality cam according to this thread.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #3
    what about the isight?
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
    Well yeah, the isight would work, but you can't buy that from a retail store anymore. Also, the cheapest you'd get an isight for would be $150 if you were lucky.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    Apple doesn't sell iSights anymore. You might be able to find one on eBay or something...
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #6
    iMage is a good webcam, compatible with iChat and Photobooth.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #7
    The Microsoft LifeCam VX-3000 works with the Maccam(http://webcam-osx.sourceforge.net/) driver. It's the middle grade one, the other two might not work yet according to maccam. The quality isn't great, but it works.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #8
    Thanks for the replies.

    I just got a Logitech quickcam ultravision and it works plug'n'play.

    The feature I like is that it's ultra wide angle of view.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    fleacat

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    that is exciting to know because I was also looking for a good webcam. I don't mean to be repetitive but are you sure it is completely compatible with Mac? I ask because the Logitech homepage shows it is only compatible with PCs.
    :)
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #10
    So you didn't have to use the maccam driver? Do you use this with iChat?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #11
    It worked with iChat and photo Booth out of the box (in Leopard). No drivers needed; no maccam; no nothing. It also works with "amsn" (a clone of msn)

    First I bought a cheaper Logitech model and it did not work but this one does.

    Regards.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    pagansoul

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Earth
    #12
    I have a Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 and it works with my Mac Pro. I have used it with Photobooth but I have not tried to use it with chat. No software needed. It did not work with Tiger.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #13
  14. macrumors 65816

    Decrepit

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Foothills to the Rocky Mountains
    #14
    The forum search engine DOES work! Thanks for posting this, it saved me from spamming with a question about this camera working, and in Leopard.

    Thanks!
     
  15. macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #15
    I just bought a Logitech Quickcam for Notebooks and it's not working. I assume some of the webcams you have working are probably higher cost than my $19.99 one!? :confused: :)

    I'm running Leopard on my G4 Powerbook.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #16
    Hey Saint it could be the price point related with the technology it carries ... the one that works on my machine is over $130. I first purchased a 50 dollar one and it did not work
     

Share This Page