Websites won't display properly - any browser

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by neal1984, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #1
    Recently I've had an issue where many, but not all, websites won't display properly. Many times it will just be that images won't load, or sometimes all CSS seems to have been stripped and I get an old-school looking text-only page.

    I'm running OSX 10.6.8 on a MacBook Pro and this problem occurrs on all of the following browsers: Firefox, Chrome, Safari.

    I've already repaired all my permissions. I also tried creating a new user account, and the problem occurs when logged in through there as well.

    Would greatly appreciate any thoughts or insight on the matter!
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #2
    I used to get this very occasionally when using Firefox on Snow Leopard. It completely went away when I switched to Safari though. I didn't think it was system related but since it's happening to you in all browsers it might be.

    Wish I could help :eek:
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #3
    Yeah since my problem is the same across every browser I think it's a different issue.

    Example screenshot attached from a visit to a SoundCloud page.

    Also, some sites such as reddit.com are not loading for me at all!

    I just tried plugging my computer directly into the modem to make sure it wasn't something the router was doing, and the problem persists.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Does the problem occur on any other computer on the same network as the affected one?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #6
    Found the solution. It was the DNS server I was using. I went into my network settings, and switch them to the OpenDNS servers. Now things are back and running like normal.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #7
    Having the same problem... So how do I get my dns to open dns?
     
  8. LPZ
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #8
    In System Preferences, click on Network. Assuming you see "Connected" for your status, click on Advanced and then on DNS. In the DNS Servers list, select and click the Minus to remove any existing IP addresses. Then click the Plus and type in 208.67.222.222. Click the Plus again and type in 208.67.220.220. Then click OK and then Apply, and close System Preferences.

    To test, attempt to go to www.31415926pi.org with your browser. Since there's no such site, an OpenDNS Guide page should load instead.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #9
    This worked perfectly, it took me hours of searching, thanks!!

     

Share This Page