Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

weeag

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 27, 2005
Hello all!!!

Well, I finally turned from the dark side after 20 years in the depths of windoze... I got my new bundle of joy on Wednesday, February 8, 2006 (he's almost a week old!!). He's a PowerMac G5 2.0.

Since I'm transitioning from windows I am having some difficulty doing some of the basic things that I became custom to. This is where you come in!

You all get to help me explore, understand and make my new mac the most productive and fun piece of equipment I have ever owned (FYI - I'm a graphic designer/photographer/web designer).

This will be an ongoing list of random questions from me as I have issues. It is my hope that this will help others as well. I look forward to joining the mac community and being educated by everyone.

SO! ON TO THE QUESTIONS!!!

1) How in the world do I set up Finder so I can look at thumbnails??? In XP you have the option to view files as thumbnails or in a 'filmstrip' which gives you a row of thumbnails and a large space above it that enlarges the image. This is VERY handy as a photographer. Is there something similar or, dare I say, better? (Yes, I know that I can set up the view as columns, but that only shows one thumbnail at a time - if I've got hundreds of photos I need to be able to see them all at once to find what I need.)

2) What do the 'Home' and 'End' keys do? In XP they jump to the beginning and end of a line in a document, now I have to hit the 'apple' key and the forward or back arrow. It's kinda annoying - is there a way to change the key functions?

3) Is there a way to minimize all open windows at once? (Like 'Show Desktop' in XP)

4) Is there a way to make dashboard widgets always seeable?

Ok, that's it for now.

To be continued...

wee!

yankeefan24

macrumors 65816
Dec 24, 2005
NYC
ok, welcome to MR.

1. do not believe you can