Weird problem with 30" display

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Solafaa, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. Solafaa macrumors 6502a

    Solafaa

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Daddy said not to talk to strangers
    #1
    I have the 30" display on my PowerMac G5 and this problems only happens on this screen. I would be happly playing WoW (world of warcraft) then for no reason what so ever my mouse pointer disapeers, gone *puff*. I will exit the game then the pointer would not be there, i will reconnect it and still nothing. Not untill i restart my G5 does it apper again.

    It does not bother me that much but sometimes and i am fight the last boss or i am doing something important i would hate for the mouse to *puff* away. Any help?
     
  2. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  3. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #3
    I have the same problem when using Safari sometimes when running it over the brushed metal at the top. I think its a problem some where in the code, that the pointer just ups and disappears. Mine comes back usually, but it is annoying. I don't think there is a fix. Just make sure WoW is updated to the latest, and also if your mouse is not the single button, make sure you got the right drivers for it too.

    Yeah, and we all wish we had this problem with a 30" screen. You bastard!

    Sorry.
     
  4. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #4
    I remember reading abotu some problems with WoW and the cursor. I think there is an option in there somewhere to turn "hardware pointers" off, that might fix your problem.

    Rob
     
  5. Logik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    #5
    i don't think it's your 30" display, it sounds like a game related issue...

    your display has nothing to do with your mouse ... it simply displays what your video card sends it.. the mouse is done in software, not in display hardware like a display..

    call blizzard and see if they have any other information on it.. or search their message boards. could be a OS X issue too, but it certainly isn't your 30" display
     
  6. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #6
    i think its definately your screen ill send you my crt and take that horrible 30 incher of your hands :) hehe
     
  7. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #7
    What's with the late hardware envy on MR?


    Do you people not work and save money? :rolleyes:


    I wish I had use for a 30" ACD, however I don't. Mobile all the time permits me from doing so. :)
     
  8. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #8
    hehe as a student i cant save money :)

    no im doing a good job of saving money i have a computer fund up, but imma run my pb to the ground before i splurge on a good set up :D
     
  9. Logik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    #9
    you realize that there's quite a few people who in this economy can barely afford a mac ... let alone a $3000 display... ya i'm going to be envious of someone who has the biggest and best.. because i literally cannot afford it.. i make a whopping $10,000 gross a year... dual G5 + DDL video card + 30" display = my entire yearly wages.. :rolleyes:

    oh and did i mention i'm a student... which means i have a heck of a lot less than my $10,000 gross available to me.. don't forget to throw in taxes on that pay too.. so really $10,000 ends up being about $8,000... throw in my car insurance + gas money + standard things you need to buy... ya.. i'd be lucky to be able to buy the G5 in one year of working... get a clue man.. not everyone is rich like you eh?
     

Share This Page