Well $35 is a big difference...3 last questions before I buy

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by niter, Nov 29, 2003.

1. niter macrumors 6502

Earlier, I posted about getting Apple's RAM in the iBook I want to order because it was only a $20 difference. Then, I found RAM that is $35 cheaper. That is a significant difference. Now, want to get the 3rd party RAM!

If I do this, how exactly do I put it into the G4 iBook? Is there anywhere I can get details with pictures? I have built several PCs before and I am comfy with handling computer stuff, but I do not want to go tinkering without full know how. Besides, I have never worked on a laptop before (hardware wise).

Also, how good is keynote? From what I see, it looks incredible. For my work/research/school, presentations are very important. I was thinking about getting it. Any opinions?

Lastly, is 40GB HD enough? My PC desktop has 40 GB, my PowerMac has 20 GB, and my old laptop had 30GB. I never came close to filling any of them up because I frequently back my stuff up. What size HD should I get, the 40 or 60GB? I do not think I will have to back things up as the iBook will be more stable than the PC, but is there something about Apples that I am missing since everyone gets the big HDs?

Thanks everyone for all the patience with my questions. I know I ask a lot!

2. m4rc macrumors 6502

On the iBook there will be instructions with pics in the help menu on installing RAM. Just print them out.