Well, I done dit it (overclocked Power Mac)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by joecool85, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #1
    I overclocked my biege pm (see sig) from 266mhz to a beastly 315mhz. All for $1.46
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #3
    If you open up a beige you have on the mother board a void if removed sticker...remove it. Pull off the jumper bar, buy jumpers at radioshack, part #276-1512. The settings are different depending on which beige you have, but for the 266 you jumper 1,5,6,8,9 and you get 315mhz. Here, this is where I got most of my info:

    http://www.lowendmac.com/ppc/j16.shtml
    and
    http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/G3_OC/tims.html
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4
    Just don't forget to properly secure your computer to the desk before it flies off with all that unbridled power now. ;)
     
  5. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    So now it's coming closer to your Dual 2 GHz G5? :D
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #6
    lol, yeah, doubt it will ever catch my G5. The plan is to swap out one of the 64mb sticks for 128mb, load on 10.2.x, upgrade to 10.2.8 and give it to my mom for internet/email/ms word usage.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    That's a nice thing to do :)

    And every MHz won is worth alot, running X on a Pre-G4. Got a chance to get 256 MB in there? sure would help too, IMHO.

    Good luck. I hope it stays a stable machine. :cool:
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Location:
    Indiana
    #8
    If you have a copy of 10.3, I would recommend installing that instead of 10.2. You will need to use XPostFacto in order to get it to install, but it will be worth it. I had and used a G3 Beige myself and 10.3 was a lot more reliable than 10.2 was. Plus I had a lot of difficulty installing 10.2 because the video would cut out during the installation and more likely than not, the computer would lock up too. Also, the video would quit during usage and soon after the computer would lock up after I got 10.2 installed. There is a command you can type in the terminal to correct this problem, but 10.3 doesn't have this problem at all. Plus 10.3 was a lost faster on the Beige than 10.2 was.

    Also, if your mother doesn't specifically need Microsoft Word for anything, I'd try to find a freeware alternative or look into a cheaper, more resource friendly alternative as I can remember Word running like a two legged dog on the Beige at times. Unfortunately, I can't provide you with any alternatives since I get Word free from my college and I'm on dial-up so looking for freeware alternatives is very tedious and time consuming (especially downloading them to test them out). I did try out Nisus Writer Express when it was a free trial beta and it seemed speedy and usable then. The only thing about Nisus Writer Express is that it is actively being written from the ground up for Mac OS X and because of this, it isn't as full featured as Nisus Writer 6 for Mac OS 9 (and for Classic Mode) was. But it is a native Mac OS X program that behaves like a Mac OS X program. They offer a 30 day free trial period and it is $69.95 regular and $109.95 for a 3 license family pack (add $10 if you want it on CD instead of downloading it).

    P.S. Woot. 100 posts.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #9
    I already have a copy of MS Word to use, and am buying 10.2 on CDs for $10 shipped. I used 10.2.x for quite a while on my G4 PowerBook with little/no problems, I'm sure it will be fine for my mom. Also, it will have 320mb RAM. Right now it has 224: 1x 32, 1x64, 1x128. I had said swap out a 64mb for a 128, I forgot and meant 32 for 128. So it will be:

    315mhz
    320mb RAM
    6mb Vid RAM
    USB (I added a card)
    10.2.8
     

Share This Page