WEP Setup on Linksys

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Butler Trumpet, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. Butler Trumpet macrumors 6502

    Butler Trumpet

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #1
    I live in an appartment, and I dont want people using my wireless internet... I tried setting up WEP...this is so you need a password right? I put in what I wanted it to be, and when I tried to log in to the network, it said my password was wrong... I guarntee it wasnt. Whats going on? I had to reset my router to get back on.

    Thanks
     
  2. OryHara macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Location:
    San Bruno, CA
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    If it's a Linksys like my WRT54G, you enter a passphrase, then hit "Generate", then see 4 keys. You'll choose which key to use by default (above the passphrase entry). That key is what you enter as a password elsewhere - and, yes, it's long.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Butler Trumpet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Butler Trumpet

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #4
    awesome!!!! thanks for the reply, and especially the screen shot... that helps lots :)
     
  5. Butler Trumpet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Butler Trumpet

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #5
    Interference Robustness?

    What is Interference Robustness? It is an option on the pull down menu when you go wireless.... I dont have it checked... until now I did, and I dont see any difference... what does it do?
    Thanks
     
  6. Rocksaurus macrumors 6502a

    Rocksaurus

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    What I do is just set up the MAC filter, just put your MAC in it and your roomies' and you're good to go.
     

Share This Page