What about 64-bit?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ripfrankwhite, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. ripfrankwhite macrumors regular

    ripfrankwhite

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    #1
    As I understand it, the G5 iMac is truly 64-bit, and the new Merom iMacs only have a 64-bit CPU, but the chipset is only 32-bit. What difference will the 64-bit Santa Rosa chipset make? What are the advantages? Thanks a lot.
     
  2. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #2
    Seeing as how the iMac only supports 3GB of RAM, does it really matter? :rolleyes:
     
  3. ripfrankwhite thread starter macrumors regular

    ripfrankwhite

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    #3
    I don't know, does it? Can anyone answer the question?:rolleyes:
     
  4. vd0t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    This is probably being caused by the chipset. Santa Roso would allow more than 4Gb of RAM (the 3Gb is that you need some memory space left to memory-map peripherals into).
     
  6. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #7
    http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=2715&p=2

    I can't find enough info about Santa Rosa or, more specifically, Crestline to make a informed call on this one. But even if Crestline supports >4GB, and Apple doesn't intentionally cripple it, I still doubt there will be more than 3 RAM slots in the iMac, MB(P), mini and 2GB sticks will still cost a pretty penny. So the 64-bitness is a mute point to everyone but marketers and those who think "64 is bigger than 32! It must be better!!!11".
     

Share This Page