What about Linux on intel mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dman8950, Jan 27, 2006.

1. dman8950 macrumors member

Ok...so no dual boot to windows yet...but has anyone tried to boot linux? I am far from an expert, nor am I someone who'd know why we would/should not need to dual boot to linux, but was just curious if you could. I analyze large data files on my g5 iMac, and running the same files on a linux box generates different output files. So, just wondering if anyone has tried to dual boot the new iMacs with linux.

Also, I've wondered for a long time if apple would ever make PDAs. When I asked someone before, they said they wouldn't because of all the intel chips in pdas today. Now that intel and apple are friends, does anyone think apple will make pda's? I don't want to buy a PDA because I already have an iPod in my pocket, so if there's a way to meld the nano (at least) and a PDA into one, I'd buy.

Thanks

2. Peace macrumors P6

Peace

Redhat has announced plans to port a Linux version to the new Intel Macs.

3. unixfool macrumors 6502a

I'm interested in what exactly will need to be ported. A distro such as Slackware isn't as elaborate of a distro as RedHat (no customized kernels and such) and I'm thinking it may run out-of-the-box on a DC iMAC.

Has anyone tried to install ANY Linux distro on their new iMacs yet? If so, which distro?

4. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Ever heard of the Newton? Apple has. Two are three years ago, Steve Jobs responded to the PDA question by telling his shareholders that PDA functions were being folded into cell phones. The PDA market, he said, is dying. Since then, cell phones have continued to assume the functions previously performed by PDAs. PDA stalwart Palm continues to decline. PalmOS is now losing its grip on even its old hardware platform. Waving an Intel chip over the shambles that is the PDA market is not going to suddenly set it right.