What actually can I do with Garageband?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ozimax, May 11, 2004.

1. ozimax macrumors member

ozimax

I am a newcomer to Mac and GB in particular, only launched it for the 1st time yesterday. I am an amateur composer, pianist (35 years), accordionist, and songwriter here in Australia.

I had ordered Finale for osX but cancelled after I read it was a dog. I have been using Notepad Plus for basic composing and also Cubasis VST, both for Win XP. I have numerous instruments but my current baby is a Korg SP200 coupled with nice big keyboard amp. I also have a Roland USB-midi cable which I hope will work with my G4 iBook (640mb ram)

My question(s) as a newcomer is this:

What can I actually do with GB? eg can I notate, print notation, export midi files, is there a GB showcase site on the web? Short of searching thru every post on macrumors, is there a beginners GB site to help me get started?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Max

2. JFreak macrumors 68040

JFreak

garageband is a loop player, not a composing software. you can play software instruments via midi, but it all becomes audio as you record it.

if you want a good notation software, take a look at www.sibelius.com

3. ozimax thread starter macrumors member

ozimax

Thanks

Thanks, have you used Sibelius eg would you recomend it for osX? Max

4. JFreak macrumors 68040

JFreak

i have a registered copy of sibelius (v2.1) and i can tell you it is very simple yet full-featured app and runs very nicely on osx. it has even brought a piece of aqua interface from osx to windows world :)

yep, sibelius is a finale-killer on osx - download a demo and try it out.

5. Flowbee macrumors 68030

Flowbee

It sounds like you've never actually used Garageband.

Garageband is not just a loop player. Midi does not 'become audio' as you record it.

That being said, Garageband does not do notation and does not import or export midi (yet).