What am I doing wrong? [Installing Ram]

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SweetCakes, Jan 4, 2006.

  1. SweetCakes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #1
    This is the second time I've tried installing new Ram, and the second time I've recieved three beeps.

    It's the right ram.

    The original ram I've installed back into my PB is working. But why isn't the other..

    Do I have to take that sticker off it in order for it to work properly?
     
  2. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #2
    The sticker should not matter, unless it is of a foil or laminated variety, in which case it has to go sianara byebye....

    but installling ram properly can be tricky in laptops, the hardest thing to do but easiest to overlook is getting it 100% seated into the socket. Be 100% certain to ground yourself BEFORE touching the ram or the insides of the computer.

    Also try resetting the pram during the first boot up after installation.
    hold down the option + cmd + P + R keys, let the chime ring twice, and then let go and proceed to booting

    good luck :p
     
  3. SweetCakes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #3
    Thanks for your quick reply. :) The sticker isn't covering anything special. I'm not having any problems installing the original ram tho. I tried installing the new one another time, it booted up, but froze on the loading screen, then gave me three beeps again... Strange.
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    Are you sure you have the right ram? Macs are very picky about ram. Did you purchase this ram from a dealer who guarantees it to work in your model? Or the ram may just be defective.
     
  5. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    If you take out the original RAM and put the new RAM in the exact same slot and you are getting errors the RAM is either faulty or not certified for use in your Macintosh, it's as simple as that. Ring the supplier and get it replaced if it is Apple certified RAM, if it isn't you are SOL.
     

Share This Page