What camera application do you use?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Moshiiii, May 28, 2006.

  1. Moshiiii macrumors 6502a

    Moshiiii

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    #1
    I have Cannon's software for their digital camera and I don't like the layout. Also its annoying to have three cannon programs, each for minor things like picture stitching/printing/bridge to camera. Is their software that can do all of this? What do you guys use?
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    I only use the Olympus software to update my camera's firmware. I use Photoshop for most everything else but I don't do panoramic stitching.
     
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    iPhoto for orgnaization and minor editing.
    stitching i use Canon's software.
     
  4. Moshiiii thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Moshiiii

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    #4
    Hrm, I forgot I had Iphoto :p

    Wow, I didnt know Iphoto can fetch pics from your camera. Cool!
     
  5. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    nope. i don't at least?
     
  6. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #6
    Photoshop CS2, transfer the files to my mac and PS it the rest of the way.
     
  7. Lau Guest

    #7
    Image capture to get the files off my camera, and Photoshop for the rest. I'm not sure I've even installed the software for may camera on the computer, to be honest.

    bousozoku's comment makes me think that my camera could be missing some exciting firmware though. Hmmm.
     
  8. ipacmm macrumors 65816

    ipacmm

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #8
    I have been using Aperture for everything right now but I still use Photoshop CS2 to edit.
     
  9. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  10. FrankieTDouglas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    #10
    Right now I use iPhoto to import my photos. Then I used Bridge to view them and look at the organization. Any editing, I do in Photoshop.

    I think I might soon be cutting iPhoto out of the circle. I'm tired of having extra files floating on my computer that eat up storage space, and plus it doesn't always open the raw version of a photo into Photoshop if I shoot raw+jpg.
     
  11. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #11
    I use Aperture with PhotoShop at home, but on the go I use Image Capture to throw everything on the laptop before I can get home.
     
  12. law guy macrumors 6502a

    law guy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    #12
    Nope - just plug the camera in and iPhoto launches, and then notes how many items are ready for import. When you installed the Canon Software, it would have assigned itself as the default program to open when a camera is connected. The next time you open iPhoto, it will ask you if you want to make it the default, so you can reselect it as the auto-open program at that time.

    For iPhoto, you may like it more if you set the background to black (default is white). At least that's become my preference.

    I have used iPhoto for organizing, but it's starting to feel "full". I am running '05 and I believe '06 improved on file management. It may be time to go get Aperture anyway - although Lightroom Beta is still free, so perhaps I'll explore the Lightroom / iPhoto combination that Chip mentions below.
     
  13. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #13
    Hmm...this has me wondering.

    Right now I used iPhoto do pull my photos and then if I'm gonna really edit it I use Photoshop. When I get my new machine, I will probably use Aperture...which brings me to this question:

    Has anyone come up with a shareware app or script that we run and can pull my RAW files into Aperture and put my JPEG copies into iPhoto at the same time?
     
  14. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    Even my lenses are updated over FireWire.

    Do any of you use a card reader instead of connecting the camera straightaway to pull the files into the computer?
     
  15. Moshiiii thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Moshiiii

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    #15
    Aperture seems popular, I need to read what the program offers.
     
  16. Caitlyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #16
    I'm currently using iPhoto for organization and minor edits/slideshows. I plan on making the move to Aperture once I've purchased my iMac Core Duo. I can't imagine pushing this iBook to run Aperture.
     
  17. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #17
    I use Lightroom for editing, and iPhoto for organizing the final output. It works for me.
     
  18. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #18
    I use Apple's "Image Capture" because it lets me download only some of the images on the memory card. I put these into a folder and give it a name based on the date and subject or location. Next import this folder into iPhoto and do a quick pass, deleting any "junk" and doing minor corrections and crops. Some photos will go through Photoshop.
     
  19. FrankieTDouglas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    #19
    I use a Sandisk card reader. Takes just about any card format made, so it comes in handy since I have two different formats in my cameras, and my sister uses an even different format.

    And... it's worth installing the software that came with my Nikon? I never even opened it.
     
  20. cookie1105 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
  21. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #21
    I'm going to check out Lightroom. If I like it, I may buy Aperture. :p

    Actually, I'll buy a MacBook first, then I'll look into getting Aperture, but only after Lightroom comes out. I'm thinking "price war." One of them will become cheaper.
     
  22. ipacmm macrumors 65816

    ipacmm

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #22
    I remember that Apple had a 30-day trial of Aperture when it first came out...I do not know if they still offer it anymore but it might be worth it to check it out to see if it will work for you.
     
  23. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #23
    I use a Lexar Professional CF card reader to get my images into the computer; I never ever upload directly from camera to computer. I don't have any of Nikon's software on my computers at all. Instead, I open Aperture, which is installed on the iMac and on the MBP, and the images go right into there, which makes it a simple matter for quick reviewing and rating, discarding/deleting the baddies, and then I'm ready to move on to Photoshop CS2 for further image editing.
     
  24. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #24
    My bet is that Lightroom wiil be included in CS3.

    The one to watch is Nikon's "NX". It works best if you have a Nikon camera but is intended to be usfull with other brands of camera too. I'm thinking it will sell for just over $100.
     
  25. sarae macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    madison, WI
    #25
    Lightroom Beta 2, then some Photoshop CS afterward. Don't touch iPhoto any more.
     

Share This Page