What can I do with a Performa?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by sethypoo, Nov 11, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #1
    Hey everyone, I have a Performa 6360 sitting at home that I'd like to put to use. We bought it back in late 1995, I think it's running OS 7.5. I'm in college, it's back home, so I can't boot it up and see.

    Also, does anyone know of the old Oregon Trail game we all used to play in elementary school? Is there a place we could download/buy it?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #2
    You can download the original Oregon Trail from here. It has all kinds of classic Macintosh games for when you want a retro game fix. Only problem I've noticed is that Oregon Trail leaves my screen looking blurry for a while unless I restart a couple of times for whatever reason.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #3
    Hmm, thanks, by the way, I love your Avatar.

    What's with the 6502, the 68000 and so on in the status line? I totally don't get that.....
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #4
    They are old Apple processor models which are used on these forums as "status" symbols designating how much we post. You start as a newbie, then move up to member, then regular, and so on as you reach a certain number of posts. They really don't mean anything at all besides an ego boosting pissing contest. ;)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #5
    What's the order to them?
    When do I get an avatar? 500 posts?
    How can eventually become a moderator, just be extra helpful and a long time member?
    Where's a good place to look for avatars?

    I know this is off topic, but hey, it's my thread!
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #6
    I have no clue how you become a moderator and I don't remember how many posts to get an avatar but I believe it is 500. I am not sure where you'd find an avatar, I just made mine like I am sure most people do. You could ask someone who has more artistic ability to make one for you, too, if you need help. That's about all I know on the subject.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #7
    All right!

    Well, enough said off topic, so anyone know or have any ideas as to what I could do with that Performa 6360?
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #8
    You could play classic games on it, set it up as a file server/firewall, turn it into an aquarium, try to upgrade it, try to sell it, or just keep it as a part of your collection to add to the decor of your room. Besides that, I am not sure. My first Mac was a PowerBook G3 I got in 1999 so I am not too familiar with the older stuff from Apple.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #9
    Where could I go to get more info on how to set it up as a firewall/file server?
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #10
    Try doing a search on here, asking someone else on this forum, or read a book at Barnes and Noble on it (that helps a lot for me). I am not too up to speed on networking beyond simple setup, so I am not sure what you'll have to do.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #11
    Ok, that's what I've been doing lately.

    I'm going to Borders tomorrow.

    I was just being lazy, hoping people would flock to the thread like flies to a windows recylce bin.

    Heh heh heh.....:rolleyes:
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #12
    So, does anyone reading this thread have any info on how I can turn my Performa 6360 into a file server or a firewall? I don't think the hard drive is that big.....what could I do?
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #13
    The 6360 has IDE so You can replace the aging Hard Disk BUT You do not have PCi Slots so adding more than one ethernet card for a firewall is going to be hard and unless you have more older macs a file server would be pointless. I have a 6400/200 I use it to check my E-mail and play classic games The 6360 is the same logic board as the 6400 minus the PCI slots.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #14
    I think you can find a build of Linux that will crunch numbers pretty well on that machine. I don't really know anything about it, but someone once told me I could run Linux on and old LC and turn it into a web server. I just didn't want to put the research into it. I really should....

    Dan

    edit: this should get you started

    Google: Linux Mac Performa

    edit 2: you got me thinking about my old 7200 and now i'm making a linux server out of it. here's a link for YDL

    Yellow Dog Linux

    also, Debian 2.1 will run on 68k machines
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #15
    THE 6360 does have a pci slot. don't run 9 on it its slow, run 8.6 if you can but 7.6.1 is ok. put more ram in it. (max 128), that things runs older games great and itll be a good mp3 server or a file server. I have no idea how to set it up as firewall....
     
  16. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #16
    I'm just amazed that you managed to clock up over 2500 posts in just 6 months :eek:
     
  17. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #17
    Don't fight with the demi-gods. :D That will help.

    You should load Linux on the thing or you could do what I've done with my old Performa--put it in the other room with stuff stacked on top of it. :eek:
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #18
    I am not afraid of demi-gods. You just have more posts, that doesn't make you better than me or anyone else on this site.

    I wasn't fighting, to set the record straight,

    I have a right to my opinion, IMHO, lol.

    Ooook, let's let that horse die.
     
  19. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #19
    Actually, for $20, you too could be a demi-god. It has nothing to do with post count. ;)

    You didn't like my idea about stacking stuff on that Performa? It looks really, ummm, nice.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    If you don't mind spending some dough

    There is Sonnet Crescendo/L2 Upgrade that will turn your 160MHz PowerPC into a G3 at 400MHz. for $200, or 500MHz for $250.

    You can then Max out the RAM and (as previously mentioned) drop your favorite Linux distro on it.

    Should be more than capable for file/print serving if not only for novelty.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #21
    old macs

    If the mac is suffienctly old enough as it is in the case of my 6400.

    Its much better to go buy mac than to upgrade the 6400.
    And at least locally for me, its actually cheaper.

    For me any & all upgdades are toward a goal of having os10.3x (10.4 really) at a minimum........anything less is a waste of my time & money.
    10.4 is a rqmt for my client support that I do.

    Due to that, the remaining goal is to 'network the mac' on my home net as a linux box. And prefereably only linux though currently its os922 & linux both.

    If I could I would wipe my current setup and go 100% linux.

    It comes down to costs for me.
    I will likely buy a good enough mac to get 10.4 and be done with the need to upgrade...

    When that happens this old 6400 will be either scrapped or fully linux'd.
    Unlike most computer users, I dont bother keeping ancient equipment around unless there is a chance of collectable value..

    Ie; I kept my old Apple I until I sold it for megabucks to a museum.
    I sold it for 100 times what I paid for it too.

    I also had a old "PET" turned into a fish tank.

    Never do I keep old pc's or other (though I might keep the cards,etc..)

    I never understand why somebody bothers keeping a dead pc (dead in capability or hardware) around collecting dust.
    I for one dont have the space to do that.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #22
    I am sure that the original poster will be very excited to see that you have posted your very informed opinion to aid in his situation...2 YEARS LATER!
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    HAHAHAH I just noticed, how random yet deliciously halarious:rolleyes: Damn now I'm hungry.
     
  24. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #24
    Better late than never. :)

    That said, If I had an old performa; I would install Doom 3. :D ;)
     
  25. macrumors G4

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #25
    I don't think it would performa well, I'd stick to Doom 2, since even my old Quadra 610 could handle that OK.
     

Share This Page