What can I put OSX Tiger on?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by RandyOrton, Oct 5, 2006.

  1. RandyOrton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #1
    I realize this may be really really stupid but, can I take Windows XP off my computer and replace it with OSX Tiger?
     
  2. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #2
    Nope, you have to get a Mac to reap the benefits of OS X :eek:
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    If your computer isn't made by Apple, you can't legally or even remotely easily put OS X onto it.
     
  4. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #4
    unless you had the early version of x86 Intel.

    there was a video that had a Packard Bell laptop running OSX. I believe Apple had a cease order but on it.
     
  5. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #5
    no you cant. you can only legally put tiger on a comp made by apple.
     
  6. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #6
    Legality aside, my first statement holds true. In order to reap the benefits of OS X you need a Mac. Sure you can hack it on to a PC but you won't have video drivers among other things - and, well... it's just not good karma ;)
     
  7. abbottpc.com macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    #7
    If it was that easy, everyone would be running OS X. Buy a mac and you will be much happier.
     
  8. drnick1988 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    xbox

    i read about these college kids that took a first generation Xbox and put OSX on it. basically the xbox is just a computer, since it has a Pentium III processor, USB port, hard drive and DVD ROM drive.
    i forget about HOW exactly they figured out how to install it, but i remember that whey they tried messing with it, OSX ran incredibly slow. Like, it took 10 seconds for the magnification on the dock to appear. Yeah, so if you REALLY want to put OSX on something other than a Mac, have at it. It'd sure be a good rainy day project...
     
  9. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Your karma check for today:
    There once was a user that whined
    his existing OS was so blind,
    he'd do better to pirate
    an OS that ran great
    but found his hardware declined.
    Please don't steal Mac OS!
    Really, that's way uncool.
    (C) Apple Computer, Inc.
     
  10. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #10
    yea, Mac users don't steal from Apple...we steal from Adobe :D

    EDIT: I'm kidding...only kidding. Don't steal software. It's not nice.
     
  11. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #11
    i think you can't install OSX on Parallels either, even though if you have a 10-computer license version
     
  12. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #12
    Ya gotta give it up to those guys over at Adobe. For a company that started by producing fonts, they have come a long way, producing Illustrator as well as Photoshop - the industry standard for graphics editors - and it all started on a Mac ;)
     

Share This Page