What case is best for putting iPad in a backpack?

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by vinum0908, Jan 11, 2011.

1. macrumors newbie

I've been searching forever, but most reviewers comment on how a case feels when holding the iPad in your hand or around the house...

I'm a student and plan on putting my iPad in a backpack most of the time with a few other books. I ordered a hard back shell for it and a screen protector-- will this be enough?

I really want to avoid the cases with folding covers since I find them unwieldy and annoying, but I don't want to mega-scratch my iPad's screen or anything.

Tips from fellow backpack stuffers?

2. macrumors 6502a

I got a neoprene sleeve and stuck a piece of cardboard in it to protect my screen. The adhesive screen protectors only keep it from getting scratched, not cracked or crushed.

3. macrumors 6502

I think the sleeves from Booq (booqbags.com) have a hard side to protect the screen.

Anyway, I'd probably go with a sleeve if I were going to carry my iPad in a backpack regularly.

4. macrumors 6502

This is the case I use and it is a great backpack case. Soft neoprene to prevent scratches on the back and a hard plastic sheet under neoprene to protect the screen. Check out my review video here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYDyiPem7ps

5. macrumors newbie

6. macrumors 6502a

While I don't have an iPad yet, I'll most likely purchase the second generation soon after it comes out.

I've thought about this issue a lot. I have an Incase sleeve and backpack that I use with my MBP everyday. For over two and a half years I haven't had any issues with protecting the notebook.

I'm really curious how people carry their iPads around campus or on a commute to work. I'm not worried about the aluminum back, but cracking the glass screen seems possible in a backpack with books, even if the iPad is in a sleeve and it's own separate compartment. I hope I am wrong about this, though.

7. macrumors 6502a

TheShinyMac