What could I do with QT Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Powerbook G5, Aug 10, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #1
    I've read the official praises of Quicktime Pro on the Apple website and did a search to see if there is any reference to the difference, but there isn't much I can find that really breaks it down, so the basic question is, why should I/need I upgrade to Quicktime Pro? (besides getting rid of that annoying box that suggests upgrading to it whenever you use QT)
     
  2. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #2
    Full Screen Mode...

    Change the contrast/brightness -- the Video settings

    Play All movies (all windows that are opened.

    And many more features I have not said anything about.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    Well, you can import and export in a lot of codecs (I'm not sure if the rgul;ar version allows you to do that).

    You have full screen mode and that is very good when using a Powerbook with dual monitors.

    You can edit, copy/paste/crop clips without having a special software. It is not the ultimate but you can do it on the fly and trust me I use it a lot.

    It is nothing to die for but it is good having it. I'm a VJ so I use it a lot.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #4
    Cool, my other question--If I buy QT Pro 6.3, will I be able to transfer my ownership over to say, QT 7 when it does come out? Or QT 6.5? I remember buying the premium version of Realplayer once and after it was upgraded, they basically said "too bad, if you want the new version you need to buy it again"
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    That's exactly how it is. QT 7 will need a new key. But think about how much work Apple puts into QuickTime. I think that it is quite impressive. And at $30 an upgrade, it really is a great price. I use QuickTime Pro all the time for file conversions. I don't really use it for cropping and stuff like that. I usually use Final Cut Pro for that.

    P-Worm
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    the thing i use it for most is file conversion. there's a lot more features that will become useful. i got it for free from the apple store.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #7
    Unless you have 30 dollars to blow, I don't think its worth it for a average user, but to anyone who needs any of its featuers, its a good deal
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    i am an average consumer, and i think it is worth it, but then i again, i didn't have to pay 30 bucks for it.

    definatly worth it if you wnt the features.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #9
    How'd you get it for free? I want free Quicktime Pro! Gimme gimme gimme!!! :D
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #10
    Maybe a family member?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #11
    In that case...I'm your father's uncle's best friend's long lost friend of his college roommate...can I have it for free, too? :D
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Jerry Spoon

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Location:
    Historic St. Charles
    #12
    I use it a lot to compress video for the web or email files. I know there's other stuff out there, but once you have an idea what you want, you can do it quickly and easily w/ qt pro.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #13
    Would it be worth it if I already use FCE and iMovie?
     
  14. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #14
    In the instance that you need to revert from mindless family reunions, I recommend Dr. Mambo Yaya.

    QTPro is pretty easy to use. And you don't have to worry about using an advanced app or some minor software to play your iBrator commercial in full screen. :D :eek:

    Just watch out for those damn MPEG-1 conversions... :eek:
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #15
    Hmm...I clicked on one of the stars and pondered deeply on whether we'll ever have new PowerBooks and what was the answer? "Your attempt to access this server has failed" Perhaps this is foreshadowing something? Time to consult the Magic 8 ball...
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    #16
    Removed
     
  17. macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #17
    It used to come free with FCP. But you had to buy FCP. Doesn't it still come with it, or do you now have to buy it seperately?
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #18
    Would this cut/scale option also be available in FCE? I'm thinking about taking advantage of that deal where you can get it for $99 and if that program does what QTP does, then it would seem like the $30 would be better spent on something else.
     

Share This Page