What did you want to be when you grew up?

Discussion in 'Community' started by Doctor Q, Feb 7, 2005.

1. Doctor Q Administrator

Doctor Q

Staff Member

As you were growing up, what job or profession did you always imagine you'd have?

Did it work out that way? Are you still headed that way?

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

As a kid I went through phases from:

Dancer to painter to astronomer back to painter... now graphic designer (print).

3. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

I recall changing my mind several times, but the only career plan I can actually remember is -- economist. You know, on the news, when they report that "economists say" the rise in unemployment was due to this or that or the other thing. I wanted to be that guy.

Needless to say, that didn't exactly work out. Second-year college math, coupled with actual economics classes, pointed me to becoming an English major. Now I'm a writer.

4. emw macrumors G4

emw

I remember riding in a car with my grandfather when I was 9 years old and him asking me what I wanted to be. I told him I wanted to build robots.

14 years ago I graduated with a BS in Mechanical Engineering - and with several "robotics-related" courses under my belt.

Of course, by then, I had become somewhat disillusioned with the whole thing, and ended up taking a job with a printing company, designing press modifications, etc. From there I got into graphic design, color management, PDF workflow, process improvement, etc.

So today I'm sitting in a meeting in Florida discussing the technical aspects of the next version of ISO 15930-6 (PDF/X-3). Not quite what I'd dreamed of 24 years ago sitting in my grandfather's car. But at least it's warm.

5. Timelessblur macrumors 65816

Timelessblur