What do architects use on Mac OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kotbehemot, Sep 5, 2006.

1. kotbehemot macrumors newbie

kotbehemot

Hi!
    I am a student of architecture, and I am going to buy myself a MacBook. Tell me - what do architects use on the Mac OS X? The standard set on the PCs is AutoCAD + 3D studio MAX + VRay + Photoshop. Out of these programs only PS works on Mac OS. What is a typical software which mac-architects use?

Thanks in advice.

2. vincebio macrumors 6502a

vincebio

Lightwave 9
    Archicad 10

other bits

Cinema 4D
    Bryce
    Vectorworks
    Ashlar Velum - amazing!

3. bartelby macrumors Core

Couldn't you just install Windows on the MacBook and run the Windows software?

4. kotbehemot thread starter macrumors newbie

kotbehemot

So what's the point in buying mac? I want to buy a mac becouse of the system.

Thanks vincebio.. And is Microstation available for mac?

5. technicolor macrumors 68000

technicolor

So you could use OSX on your spare time and for your personal use, and use the windows side for school and work. The Apple isnt going to be much more expensive than a PC lappie anyway, might as well be able to have both.

6. riciad macrumors 6502

For 3D, SketchUp Pro (won't be UB until version 6 is released by the look of things), ArtlantisR

7. kotbehemot thread starter macrumors newbie

kotbehemot

I know SketchUp - it is great software. Do You know, how fast and stable it is on intel Macs? It still runs through Rosetta, doesn't it? Artlantis too?

Lightwave looks like great rendering software - will it work well on an intel MacBook, anyone tried? the graphics card in MacBook is told not to be very good, and at this moment I can't afford MB Pro:(

8. riciad macrumors 6502

From what I've read SU runs not too bad under Rosetta if you max out the ram. Hopefully SU Pro 6 should be out soon and then it should really fly. I'm using it at the moment with an iMac G5 Rev A 1.8 with no problems.