What do we do with all these people?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by nbs2, May 3, 2006.

1. nbs2 macrumors 68030

nbs2

With the rapid destruction of the thread I started in the Community Discussion forum, it was proposed to me to start a thread here and post links to this one.

Please, continue here your discussion regarding immigration topics and what should be done with illegals and for those who sacrificed time and were patient to wait for a time to be allowed in - those who I think are part of an older generation...those who did not demand instant gratification.

2. devilot Moderator emeritus

devilot

Disclaimer: I'm pretty new in the Political Forum. I'm doing my best. :eek:

I have heard plenty of people (in person, not on MR, yet) and just to clarify, there are immigrants and non-documented workers that are not of Latino/a descent. There are all sorts of Asians, Africans, and yes, even Europeans.

There are also immigrants in non-physical labor intensive jobs. Walk around inside a techy/ cubical office building-- when I did, I saw mainly different Asians, many of whom are immigrants (Indian, Chinese, Korean, etc.).

I'm sorry, but there are plenty of people who are younger and older who have jumped through all the hoops, dealt with all the red tape, can answer more seemingly trivial questions about America that those of us born and raised here probably couldn't even answer (as even some of my teachers have admitted to)-- and they still get rejected citizenship. Even the terminology of "illegal immigrant" can be problematic. There are blurry lines. What about the many individuals who are between visas, or in the process of becoming a citizen? Care for some real-life examples of people I have personally interacted with?