What do you make of this?

Discussion in 'Community' started by dsharits, Jul 22, 2005.

1. dsharits macrumors 68000

dsharits

I have a "friend" who I have been talking to for a few months now, and tonight things started to get a little shady. I have a few friends in faraway countries that I talk to regularly, and she didn't seem out of the ordinary until tonight. I was talking to her on Yahoo, and she started telling me that she lives in Nigeria, and she sells laptops and phones. She went on to tell me that she was robbed a while ago, and she now gets paid in money orders instead of cash. The longer this conversation went on, the more I kept thnking about the infamous Nigerian scams that come in e-mail from time to time. Below is a copy of part of the log from our conversation tonight. I played along like any other average dumb-person-that-would-fall-for-a-stupid-scam, just so I could see where this went. I don't know where to go with this, so I am calling out to my wise neighbors of MacRumors for your input. Here's the transcript in two parts, since the post is limite to 10,000 characters. (I'm bucsnboltsfan, BTW):

2. dsharits thread starter macrumors 68000

dsharits

Continued........ :rolleyes:

3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Wow, this is the most involved version of this scam I have ever seen! :eek: :rolleyes:

I'm sorry you didn't turn out to have a real friend, there.... :(

4. dsharits thread starter macrumors 68000

dsharits

So what do you suggest? I gave her my business address, so it won't be linked to my house. Should I inform the police or somebody when I get the money order? Will the money order be legit?

5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Actually, I have no idea. That's an interesting question.... So she doesn't want any private information about you? Seems innocuous enough to find out.... :confused: