What do you use for VNC/Remote Admin?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Imidazole, Nov 1, 2006.

  1. Imidazole macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #1
    On my PC I use www.gotomypc.com - Its nothing fancy, but from work it allows me to remote-control my PC, and I even play WoW from work through it.

    Whats the best VNC that you guys recommend, for me to use on my Mac, soon as it gets here? It would have to have some sort of client I wont have to INSTALL that I could just run from a USB drive or something.

    Hopefully it'll be good enough for me to load WoW in too ;) hehe
     
  2. dwishbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    On the Moon
    #2
    personally i use OSXvnc for my server side and Chicken of the VNC for my client side. VNC works great for me since i run a mixed Mac, PC, Linux network. i can remotely connect to any machine using the same technology.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    a VNC server is built into OS X as part of the Apple Remote Desktop plug-in, so there's no need to isstall anthing to access the Mac. Just configure it.

    I prefer Chicken of the VNC as my VNC client when I need to use VNC.

    Most often I use Timbuktu and/or Apple Remote Desktop for remote connections.
     
  4. dwishbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    On the Moon
    #4
    is there a decent gui to configure and turn on/off the built in VNC?
    i like OSXvnc because it has a lot of configuration options that are east to access.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    There's really no config...

    System Preferences -> Sharing -> Apple Remote Desktop -> Access Privileges button -> Etc..
     
  6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    Is that in Panther too, or just Tiger? Because I too use OSXVNC, and sometimes it dies on me..

    I use RealVNC on my PC to access my mac at home.
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7

    Panther too.
     
  8. dwishbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    On the Moon
    #8
    ya. see thats where i thought you were talking about. i never knew that the ARD was just a flashier version of VNC.
    thats just not enough configuration for me. since i have several machines i need to be able to adjust ports and other things.
     
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Well, ARD isn't a flashier version of VNC exactly..

    ARD includes VNC.
     

Share This Page