What Does Airport Extreme/Express Do?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by The_Man, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #1
    Can anyone help explain to me Airport Extreme and Airport Express and their functions?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    The_Man

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    #3
    Thanks for that link! I had no idea to check APPLE.COM!

    I obviously have already been to the apple website to look at the information on the product. I have previously read the description but I was just wondering if anyone could give me a more detailed description of what exactly it does and not just post a link to apple.com.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #4
    airport extreme is a wireless router. Airport express is a smaller form factor device that can be used as a wireless router, but lacks some features of the extreme model. it can also be used as a wireless range extender and for streaming music to a stereo wirelessly. In most cases, airport extreme is a complete ripoff, since if you look around you can get a wireless router for under 20 bucks after rebates. Airport express is best used for the music and wireless extender capabilities.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    broken_keyboard

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Secret Moon base
    #5
    It just saves you a few wires that's all...

    Instead of running cables from your modem to your computer and from your computer to your other computers, you just buy one of these and it uses radio waves instead.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    mike423

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #6
    When you say wireless extender you mean? like say I have a siemens router at home in living room, so the connection is little low...If I put the apple airport in my room will it connect to the siemens router and give me better network?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #7
    Precisely. This is done by setting the Airport Express in Bridge mode. The computer in your room connects with strong signal to the Airport Express, which relays that signal to the Siemens router, and back. The Siemens router remains the "main" router. Theoretically, this "router hop" cuts your throughput in half, but you'll most likely never notice in normal usage, especially if your Siemens router is Wi-Fi N speed.

    At the same time, the Express can play back any iTunes library through its 1/8" stereo jack; this function is called AirTunes.

    The Express has a USB port, but it's good only for connecting a printer. However, any networked computer will be able to connect to that printer. The Extreme's USB port, by contrast, will accept USB external hard drives as well as printers; it will also accept a powered USB hub for connecting multiple USB devices.

    The 3 main things the Extreme can do that the Express can't:
    • Allow wired (Ethernet) clients-- it has three Gigabit Ethernet client ports, while the Express only allows wireless.
    • Allow USB hard drives or flash drives on its USB port.
    • Allow WiFi-G and WiFi-N devices on the same network, with all devices going top speed (called Simultaneous Dual Band).

    The 2 things the Express can do that the Extreme can't:
    • Portability: Its compact size works well for business travelers who use it in hotels that provided only wired connections in rooms.
    • AirTunes (see above).

    If you're looking for a barebones router, perhaps. However, if you have a mixed-client situation-- a WiFi-N iMac in Dad's office, Mom's older WiFi-G iPod touch, and a teenager who insists on Gigabit Ethernet for his water-cooled gaming rig, the Extreme is worth the money, because no connection slows down any other-- there is no WiFi speed fallback with Simultaneous Dual Band. Competing routers that can do this are-- guess what?-- right about the same price as the Extreme.
     
  8. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    Note that most of this thread is 5years old so some of the comments should be read with that in mind.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #9
    Right. I only answered mike423's question, as it was posted yesterday. I decided to be more complete about my answer, as the advances in the Airport Extreme make it a considerably different (and IMHO better) value from its 2005 equivalent-- especially Simultaneous Dual Band, which wasn't available when strider42 made the "ripoff" comment.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    mike423

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #10
    Thank s alot this helped alot too. :)
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Loke2112

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    3 blocks off the Atlantic
    #11
    Hey I'm bumping this old thread as I need some clarification. I have an Extreme and an Express )1st) gen and want to know for sure if I can extend the range of the express WITHOUT connecting visa ethernet. Someone mentioned bridge mode but I don't recall seeing that during set up but would be glad to redo in once Im sure it will do what I want. Otherwise I can connect via ethernet but would prefer not to.

    Thanks in advance for any assistance!
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #12
    Yes, pretty much.

    I live in a house that is fairly big. The main Airport Extreme router is attached to cable on one side. That side gets good reception. The other side of the house used to get only 1-2 bars of weak WiFi reception. I solved the problem by placing a cheaper Airport Express on the weak-signal side of the house. Voila! The Airport Express acts like an "extender", it grabs the weak signal that the main airport is transmitting and magnifies it so that the area surrounding the Airport Express (used as an extender) will get strong 3-4 bar reception.

    ----------

    Your question is not clear. Do you want to use the Express to extend your Airport Extreme's range? Because that would be the natural thing to do. And yes, it is done via WiFi (not some physical ethernet cable).

    If you are trying to accomplish something else…. not sure about it…
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Loke2112

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    3 blocks off the Atlantic
    #13
    Sorry I see I typed visa instead of via... Thanks for your help. I ran some speed tests last night with and without it plugged in in the basement and there was an obvious jump. Please as punch thank you!
     

Share This Page