What ever happened to the Macintosh Duo??

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by neocell, Sep 3, 2005.

1. neocell macrumors 65816

neocell

I'm fairly new to the mac world, switched over with OSX, and I've long wanted the ability to sync my work data with my home computer (as sometimes I'm working at home). This has only become greater now that I have a powerbook along with my home iMac. I've read quite a few threads in this forum of others wanting to sync their systems as well and tonight I stumbled across an old video of an apple duo commercial. Were they two computers that synced up? or did you need to powerbook part to make the desktop part work? Just curious about what ever happened to the duo line. Thought that there'd be some knowledgeable folk in the forums that could give some background to it and why it's no longer.

Thanks a lot

Attached Files:

2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

That's just a PowerBook Duo with a docking station.

3. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

It was quite expensive for what it did. I used to have one, but the docking station died after a while and so I could only use the laptop function. The docking station included slots for additional hard drives, but other than that it wasn't really a separate computer -- it was just a convenient way to recharge/connect to an external monitor. Nowadays people generally just plug the laptop into an external monitor and maybe get a bluetooth keyboard and mouse for the same functionality.

4. combatcolin macrumors 68020

combatcolin

looked cool though, like a giant piece of Star Trek of tech that Geordi would pull from underneath a console.

5. neocell thread starter macrumors 65816

neocell