What firewire interface should I buy?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by verygood85, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #1
    I am going to buy my first firewire interface. I have a macbook pro with 2.5GHz, and I have Logic Pro now. I am going to buy Pro Tools LE later.
    I was considering M-Audio 1814 because it can work with Logic and Pro Tools. However, I heard that 1814 crases many people's computer, so I don't think I will buy it.
    I heard Motu 8 pre is a good one, but it can't work on Pro Tools.
    Pro Tools can only work with Digidesign hardware and some M-Audio hardware for recording. However, is there any other ones can also work with Pro Tools?
    Can Digidesign hardware like 003 rack work with other recording software such as Logic Pro?

    I am looking for a good firewire interface with at least 8 inputs and 2 or more outputs that can work with Logic Pro and Pro Tools. However, I know there might not be one, so any other suggestions would be good too.
    My budget is kind of small, but I will consider the ones that are not in my budget range if I have to do it in order to get what I want.

    By the way, what about RME 400 or 800?
    Their review are good, but a little too expensive...

    But RME 800 can only record 4 mics at a time, isn't it?
    What if I want more mic inputs?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    steelphantom

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #2
    Why do you want to switch to Pro Tools? Are you going to be collaborating with other people that use it? Also, how many tracks will you be recording at once? Some interfaces can only record 2 tracks simultaneously, others 4, and others (like the MOTU 8pre) can record 8 tracks at once. The 8pre is a solid unit, and if you pair it up with Logic Pro, you'll have a great combination of hardware and software.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #3
    yes.

    then you're looking at the 003, assuming you want to run the LE version of PT.


    why do you need both DAWs? it'd be easier to pick one and go with it.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #4
    I'm using logic for myself now, but Pro Tools is more like the industry standard, so I wanna be familiar with it in case I will need to use it in other studios in the industry. Even though, I don't need the that many tracks for now, but I might record something in live later. I think I would still wanna do most things on Logic, and Pro Tools LE will just for practicing using Pro Tools.
    Is Motu 8 pre better than 003 rack?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #5
    By the way, what about RME 400 or 800?
    Their review are good, but a little too expensive...
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Newengland usa!
    #6
    they are awesome cards.
    if i was in your position i would snatch one those up over a motu.

    also like what everyone else said
    choose 1 daw and stick to it.

    unless your doing work in multiple daws then get pro tools.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #7
    instead of getting digi hardware as your sole piece, you can buy one of the mbox's. i love the PT software, but i think the hardware is overpriced for what you get.

    if Logic is your main DAW, spend your hardware money on something better like on RME, Metric Halo, or Apogee.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Newengland usa!
    #8
    so true i agree

    APOGEE
    i would go with apogee if your never going to use your interface on a windows machine.
    if your gonna use windows and osx then rme.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #9
    Are you talking about RME?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #10
    Are you talking about any particular model?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #11
    Good idea!
    Actually, I don't know every single detail of the product description. That's part of the reason I strugge with to buy.:(
    But which ones has more mic inputs?
    Is it better to invest a lot of money on the very first one?
     

Share This Page