Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cattywampus_

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2006
Hi,

I bought a Canon EOS 350D DSLR camera a couple of weeks ago. I am going to be going to an international Airport in the next few weeks with said camera. I am looking to buy a Telephoto lens (this will be the first Lens I have bought for the camera besides the standard 18-55mm lens that came wiht the camera) so that I can hopefully get some nice pictures of the aircraft taking off and landing.

Since I am new to DSLR cameras and such, I am unsure of which lens to go for. All the meansurements etc are alien to me as I am yet to properly start studying the ins and outs of photography. So I am going to ask you guys to help me pick a lens.

The place I will be taking the pictures from is going to be around 1000-2000ft from where the planes are going to be in their ideal position for snapping the pictures.

I have around £150 to spend on a lens. From looking at the prices I am not expecting to get anything amazing for the money, but it will be my first "starter" lens so to speak.

A friend who I am going with has the same camera and the following lens that he has recommened :-

http://jessops.com/Store/s12278/0/L...aspx?&IsSearch=y&pageindex=1&CatId=143&comp=n

Do you think that is going to be suitable for what I need - or are there better lenses available?

Thanks

Grimace

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2003
with Hamburglar.
At that focal length, your budget may be too tight. The 75-300 isn't nearly as good as the 70-300mm IS. It's $549 USD, so maybe 260 pounds? I think it would really be worth it if you need serious reach on a budget.

Mantat

macrumors 6502a
Sep 19, 2003
Montréal (Canada)
There is nothing in that price range that I would consider 'good'. You better save up for a better quality lens or go on the used market.