What games can run on my G5?

Discussion in 'Games' started by G5Unit, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #1
    Stats are in may sig. And presume I were to get like a 9800xt or se. All my ram slots are taken up.
     
  2. Phat_Pat macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
    #2
    You can try this which will tell you what games will run good on your system. :cool:
     
  3. mattmack macrumors 6502a

    mattmack

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco Area
    #3
    At least the aspyr games that will run on your system
    ;)
    Seriously though, most games will run well on your system. The video card is the only weak spot. The sooner you replace the 5200 the better IMHO.
    I have a similar system with less ram and run UT 2004 and BF 1942 and Americas army, Sim City 4 and other games well enough and at decent resolutions and get frame rates that i feel are very good. I haven't played doom 3 on it so i can't tell you about it yet
     
  4. Phat_Pat macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
    #4
    well....yeah.. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #5
    Stay away from Doom3 it will make your system Cry Mac. Everything else your ok.
     
  6. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #6
    If I got the 9800 se or xt would doom 3 be good at 1024 by 768 (high settings)? And I got asyper game agent.
     
  7. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    Have a look at the reviews on http://insidemacgames.com/
     
  8. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #8
    I suppose you have the DUAL 1.8 model...

    Look at my G5 in my sig. I have 9600XT and I can tell you that I had a flawless experience with Doom 3 at high settings 1024x768.
     
  9. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
  10. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #10
    Hm... Maybe it doesn't matter so much. For me, doom 3 works better if I force the second processor off. Many people have observed this too!
     
  11. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #11
    If I were to turn sound off. Would I get faster framerate?
     
  12. SaleenS351 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #12
    How do you force the second processor off?
     

Share This Page