What games for an older iBook???

Discussion in 'Games' started by OlyWaFox, Oct 10, 2005.

1. OlyWaFox macrumors newbie

Oct 10, 2005
    Hey Y'all-

I am very new to gaming and tech, so please bear with me. I am running an iBook G3 PowerPC 900MHZ with OS X 10.3.9. The graphic card reads (I checked in System Profiler) "ATI Rage M7"... which I have read is the same as the Radeon 7500 (not sure). In any case, I know there is 32MB of VRAM.

I am wondering what higher quality games might be compatible with this older system??? I am very interested in finding a higher quality non-linear RPG... oh, and I don't really enjoy modern military-themed games.

Any suggestions/favorites????

Here are some titles I am looking at now (across multiple genres):

* Summoner
    * Rune
    * Knights of the Old Republic (I'm thinking this is too much for my system to handle?)
    * Warcraft III BattleChest (I have played this game before. I enjoy the interface/graphics and setting, but I would like a little more character development and detail)
    * Ages of Empire II Gold
    * Rise of Nations Gold
    * 8th Wonder of the World (all three of these strategy titles- AoE2, RoN, 8thWotW- seem very similar, so I would really appreciate any comments here.)
    * Neverwinter Nights (this is obviously a popular game... but I am not sure I could get into the setting or characters... seems a little too hack-and-slash, monsters and monster-killers. Let me know what you think!)
    * Baldur's Gate (not sure about this title either... I can't find BG2 for sale, only the expansion. Tell me why you like this one, or dislike!)

2. dan-o-mac macrumors 6502a

Oct 12, 2004
    Brooklyn, NY
    It will easily run AoE II(my favorite game). RoN might be sluggish. Don't even think about KoTOR. 8th wonder is crap, replace it with Age of Mythology.

If your into rts you might also want to check out Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds. http://www.apple.com/games/articles/2002/05/galactic/