What I want to do/Is it possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by OrangeCuse44, Mar 20, 2007.

1. OrangeCuse44 macrumors 65816

OrangeCuse44

To begin, when I say "is it possible," I mean can a newbie web designer like myself accomplish this without much trouble...And if possible, it would be wonderful if anyone could point me in the right direction in terms of what software to use, what host to use, etc...

What I want to do: I want to create a web site (most likely through iWeb being that I have little experience with web design, but I do consider myself computer savvy). What I want with this site is for a form of public blog geared towards a specific topic. I would like for the layout to be relatively simple (basically a box for a post in the middle of the homepage) where someone posts thoughts and other users can respond to that thought creating a "conversation." I would like for visitors to create user accounts, along with profiles, avatars for posting.

Im not sure if there is a service out there that can support a blog like this (either free or low cost). Any help and further questions on this is greatly appreciated!

2. dpaanlka macrumors 601

dpaanlka

You can't do that with iWeb, instead you need to install and configure blog or forum software such as phpBB or WordPress onto your servers that you either rent or own.

Dreamhost is really good at setting stuff like that up for you. You sort-of need to know what you're doing though to "make it your own" and not look generic.

WordPress
    phpBB
    Dreamhost

3. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

It sounds like you want to call it a blog but instead you're making a forum. Is it based around anything or is it just going to be for random thoughts?

4. OrangeCuse44 thread starter macrumors 65816

OrangeCuse44

i have a few possible ideas about what it will be geared towards but i guess what im looking for is a cross between a blog and a forum...

5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5