What? (iMac screen fuzzy)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by zap2, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #1
    Ok i went to the bath room and my iMac fell asleep and i came back and found its screen all fuzzy and werid i took a screen shot and put it back to sleep and now it back to normal. Werid ,its a REV A iMac g5. The screen Shot i took when it was all fuzzy show the Screen being normal. I'm i going crazy?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    londonweb

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    london
    #2
    How hot did you have your bath?
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #3
    I would call in a case report to Apple on your Rev A iMac immediately.

    There have been countless problems with the midplane board capacitors
    failing after about 6 months of use.

    The first indication of this problem is glitches showing on your display.

    Apple is quietly replacing the motherboards on these defective units, so cover your a$$ by making a report.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    The is also a warranty extension program on these boards.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #5

    I did not even take a bath !!:eek:

    Wow thanks for tell me! But if took a screenshot of it why would it appear as if it was normal?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #6

    Were could i find that(any place one Apple.com?)
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #7
    Could it be that the screen shot function takes it from inside the video card, where as what you see is on the screen. If the fuzziness problem is between the video card output and the screen, then it wouldn't show up in the screen shot (which may make it tricky showing the Applecare people what's happening).
     
  8. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8
    Right, just like a dead pixel, or even if you take a CRT's picture adjustments and distort the picture won't show in a screen shot.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    londonweb

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    london
    #9
    That's exactly what would happen- the screen shot software just makes an image out of the data being sent to the screen at the time. Sounds like physical (ie. hardware) problem.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #10
    My friend in Au took his 1.8 GHz 20" into repair and they ended up replacing
    the entire motherboard including a processor upgrade and the 128MB GPU,
    so I'd not mess around.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #11
    :eek: :D upgrade!! i think i'll be taking it to my local store!
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #12
    Same problem

    I had the same problem, it looked like someone was shaking my screen. I called Apple, even though my warranty ended a week ago and they said there was a number of iMac G5s with problems with their main board. Anyways they directed me to this web address:

    http://www.apple.com/support/imac/repairextensionprogram/

    They also got me to open up my computer to take a look at the board and a couple capacitors had ruptured and were oozing some yellow stuff. Take a look at the photo.

    I suggest based on the reaction of the Apple support staff when I told them the capacitors were oozing and there were two ready to burst, you should probably call Apple and or take it in to get fixed.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #13
    I hope nothin like this happens with the Rev. C's cause these are like Rev As, but not...
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #14
    jimmyjjames , i owe you one. I looked at those things and one was had the foamish stuff. I'm taking her in weds or this weekend but until them i don't have a MAc to use!:eek:

    Well thanks

    I'll check MacRumors with my PC.(i know its a PC but for MR i'll do it)
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #15
    Update

    Just got a hold of the Apple Certified Repair shop that I took my computer to. They have to replace the whole logic board is what they said, but the rub is that there is a back log of people waiting for the same repair. So they cannot guarantee that I will have my computer back anytime soon.
     

Share This Page