What is a good alternative to handbrake that wont make Cave Man cry?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Kurfer, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #1
    I have a large handful of DVD's for handbrake that wont rip.

    The Royal Tenenbaums, crashes handbrake both from DVD and from RIP. Wont even load.

    LOTR - Return of the King, gets to about 75% and Handbrake dies.

    I am using the latest version, I have tried VisualHub 1.33a but trying to get 5.1 +2.0 just doesn't freaking work properly.

    I watch movies from both a 2.0 source and in my theater room at 5.1, VisualHub can't get both at the same time for me.

    Any other good apple tv encoding software out there?
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #2
    Sounds like a problem with your system, not Handbrake. I've done all six LotR DVDs with Handbrake in 2-pass AC3/AAC H.264 without any problem at all. What ripping software are you using?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #3
    Mac the ripper, I've seen other forums complain too. It might be that I have a different DVD than you. What version are you ripping? The single disc version?

    I've tried it on my mac mini, mac pro and macbook pro. Thanks for the quick reply but i'm gonna have to say nuh uh. :)
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #4
    No, extended versions, region 1. Sometimes MTR is not all that reliable. I've had to pass ripped DVDs through DTOX before they're ready for Handbrake. More reliable for me has been DVDFab under Windows (using VMWare Fusion on my Mac). MTR just isn't the greatest ripper available.

    OK, then keep doin' what your doin'. But I'm telling you, it's not Handbrake that's causing your problems. I have more than 900 gb of videos served up to my ATV from DVDs, so I think I've been around the block once or twice. ;)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #5
    Rip Royal Tenenbaums and tell me if it works :(
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    smurfjammer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #6
    What version of Mac the Ripper are you using and what Mac OS?
     
  7. macrumors G5

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #7
    In the case of Handbrake, if you have any complaints about crashes: Why don't you download the source code, compile it and find what the problem is? As a very first step, instead of moaning, you could do something that is actually helpful and write down exactly what you are doing, check that it is reproducible, and send everything together with your DVDs to one of the maintainers of the program so that they can fix it.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Indohottie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #8
    I was having a similar problem with handbrake.. just redownload it and install.. it fixed my issue.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    Sorry, don't have it. Good luck isolating your problem.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    aloofman

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Location:
    Socal
    #10
    I also had a lot of trouble with Handbrake on my Mac Mini at home, although I've had no problems using it on other machines, and plenty of others love it. At home I use Visual Hub, which works great, although it isn't free. I never knew why HB wouldn't work for me, but I haven't lost much sleep over it.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #11
    for the record, i have ripped all of those dvds with handbrake without issue. but sometimes random dvds will have problems with one program or another. sometimes without reason.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #12
    I ripped Royal Tenenbaums with no problem. Been a while so I'm trying to remember what I did - pretty sure it was Fairmount/DTOX combo.

    See here for more information if you aren't familiar with that combo.

    I have personally done over 1000 tv shows and 50'ish movies with Handbrake and never had a problem (aside from the memory leak in 0.9.2). I use the snapshot builds these days as I find them more stable oddly enough.

    Oh and I just did the extended versions (all 3) of LotR with handbrake like a week ago. Again - did fairmount/dtox and combined them into 1 file with no issues what so ever.

    And yeah - I could never get visualhub 5.1 + 2.0 thing to really work either (only tried it with .mkv's though which I'm on the verge of just completely giving up on altogether though).
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #13
    If I have something that wont work with handbrake (causes it to crash), I'll use mactheripper to get the Video_TS folder on to my drive. Then I'll use Mpeg Streamclip, to combine the .VOB files all into one file. Then I'll take that file into visualhub and use the apple TV 2.0+5.1 setting. This works well. Only thing is that you get a .mov file which can't hold all the meta data that .m4v can.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #14
    Love that FairMount

    I've been using FairMount to mount the DVD, then copying the whole DVD to my HD first. That way, if the DVD has the PITA "bad sector" protection, it will "eventually" copy the whole thing... Might take a few hours if they really load it down with bad sectors, but I do eventually end up with a good VIDEO_TS folder to run through HandBrake if that's the case. And with or without the bad sectors I can still just use that HD version for re-rips if necessary (or use that as the source for DVDRemaster or whatever else to bring a dual-layer down to single layer).

    Perhaps your DVD has the "bad sector" protection and HB is just puking when it hits them. I forget what happens that way since I've been using FairMount for some many months now.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    DeuceDeuce

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Dimas, CA
    #15
    I had to use Mac The Ripper first then use Handbrake for my copy of The Royal Tenenbaums.
     
  16. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #16
    So, it turns out that Handbrake isn't "too buggy" after all, and that the OP either has bad/dirty DVDs, bad DVD drive, or just can't get the job done. :rolleyes:
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #17
    You're really offended that I can't rip the movies. I actually got it to rip with a program other than handbrake just fine. That blows your silly little "bad drive" theory out the window. I asked for an alternative and you came running to the thread with your self righteous banter about how it's "my setup". I already told you I tried it with three mac setups I have running in my house. That is three different drives...I also used my in-laws copy of the movie and it did the same thing. Visualhub ended up working...

    Thanks to the everyone else for the real replies, for those of you who used mac the ripper + handbrake; did you by chance have the special edition Royal Tenenbaums DVD?
     
  18. rw3
    macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #19
    The hackles did come up pretty quickly, didn't they. I guess people take their DVD ripping pretty seriously around here...
     
  20. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #20
    You started this by your inflammatory title, which is now just silly and immature (are you out of your teens yet?). Had you simply said that you were having problem, instead of claiming that handbrake was "too buggy", then you'd have been just fine.

    Clearly, the DVDs that you have can be successfully ripped with Handbrake; everyone knows that. So Handbrake isn't the problem. I've used MTR enough to know it has problems with some encoding schemes and that many drives from Apple have problems with rips as well. I could not rip a few DVDs with my MBP, but with my iBook G4 they ripped just fine. Same problem with my iMac. However, my hackintosh drive (Samsung) has ripped every disc that I've tried.

    Evidently, you don't know what you're doing, newb.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Cold Copenhagen
    #21
    Cave Man: Just leave it, there is no point wasting your time on Kurfer :D
     
  22. thread starter macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #22
    Jesus H Christ on a bloody stick! I the last time I got this much slack was when I mentioned middle class and below shouldn't be allowed to vote on some political forum for blue collars. :)
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Cold Copenhagen
    #23
    Oh come on Kurfer :D

    After I saw your Home theatre setup, and started drooling I think you can take a bit criticism :D
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #24
    Mac the Ripper works for me when Handbrake doesn't.
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #25
    Um, I assume you mean for the actual ripping process as MTR will not convert your source to work on the atv.

    While HB's actual ripping ( reading of protected sources ) capabilities are limited to say the least ( we *always* recommend pre-ripping ) frankly its encoding to the AppleTV is pretty much the gold standard right now as it's the only encoder (outside of apple) that can do AC3 DD in an mp4 ( kudos to eddyg on that one ) .

    Seriously, realize that HB is not concentrated as much on ripping ( there are many options for that task already out there that do it much better ) but more on video encoding. As an example, be prepared to have to have VLC in the next release of HB as it will need it to read commercial dvd's. Oh, and those .mkv's you guys have been downloading on the internet and cannot play on your atv ? Not so much an issue after the next HB release ;)
     

Share This Page