what is speedIt?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fatties, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. fatties macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #1
    is this something that comes with the computer?

    to catch everyone up (just incase you haven't heard enough of my mb woes) my computer has been randomly shutting down/ behaving very slowly/ freezing -> ie just acting like the ol' pc hell i escaped from. Today i went to the genius at regents street and the results that came in are:

    a) i thought the reseller i got my computer gave me apple ram, but they gave me kingmax ram (thats ok right? i've googled them and they seem legit, plus the reseller in hk my mom got me from only sells macs so surely they knew vaguely what they were doing. but they did run off with my stock apple ram so i can stick that in to see whats wrong with it.

    b) the dude decided that because the last 3 mb he saw had ram problems, therefore mine has two. told me that 2gig of apple ram would set me back 500 quid, and yes of course you can get another 3rd party ram, insinuated why the hell i would want to do that... AND then said, but i don't really know whether it is the ram, do you want to send it in to be checked for a week? it will just come back telling you to get apple ram.

    c) told me off for playing jedi knights all weekend (by the way the shutdowns started before the jedi knights obsession) because it is really taxing on the computer. heck i play it in windowed mode with everything set to medium and its a 3 year old game that claims only to need 32vram and 256ram (ok we double that for opt. performance and double that again for rosetta)= 1gig needed. am I being really delusional that i should be able to play that on my mb happily? i mean i;ve lost all hope of playing civ IV!

    d) this is what came up this afternoon. i really hope i didnt include too much in it... please don't rob me of my life!

    so what do you think? should i trust the apple guy who desperately wanted to get off work? (he saw me at 8:40, shop closes at 9)


    thank you!

    (and sorry other apple techie for not having 100% faith in you guys!)
    PHP:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    I believe this is SpeedIt. I don't believe it comes with the machine as standard. As a first step, I'd try uninstalling it (use Spotlight).

    Even if a brand of RAM is reputable, you may still have a bad chip (or two). As a second step, maybe try removing the RAM and running on what Apple gave you originally. :)
     
  3. fatties thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #3
    thanks. i think i removed it but not all of it so the remenents are gone after spotlight search.

    i've run the apple hard drive test and memtest 4 times... does that means that i don't have bad ram or might i still have it?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Those software based tests are notoriously bad at finding faults with the RAM. The best way to check is to run it for a while with the suspicious RAM removed. :)
     

Share This Page