what is the average opening time for a 12"PB 867Mhz running Jaguar?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by toughboy, Feb 2, 2004.

1. toughboy macrumors 6502a

toughboy

I have been using my PB for a few months, I wasnt really caring about the time difference between my 12"PB and my former PC.

But yesterday, I realised that 2-3% of my battery goes when it starts Jaguar, and a PCer friend of mine told me that there is a dramatic difference between his Centrino notebook running WinXP and my PowerbookG4..

I just want to know what is the average openning time for a 12"PB 867Mhz with 640Mb DDRRam running 10.2.8 Jaguar.. Just to feel Ok, you know..

2. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

Just use "sleep"

The best thing about Mac OS X is that you shouldn't ever need to shut down your computer. I don't have a Mac with your specs (I have a Ti400), but the only time I ever restart my computer is for system software updates. Windows needs to be restarted every once in a while because the system gets bogged down, but Macs just keep on ticking. Even if I'm out and about, I just put the computer to sleep and open it up and use it--after several hours of sleeping, I notice very little battery drain, and my computer is ready to go in seconds whenever I need it.

3. toughboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

toughboy

Re: Just use "sleep"

well I wished I would use my PB as much as you but sometimes it is 3-4 times a week..

is there anyone who have the same specs or at least 12"PB who can test it for me.. lets see the average startup time..

4. toughboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

toughboy

another question can be, if I install Panther, would startup time better off? is there anyone who installed Panther on a Jaguar machine and realized a decrease in startup time?

5. MacBoyX macrumors 6502

MacBoyX

I have a 1GHZ 12" takes 1 minute 3 seconds to get to the login screen and 35 seconds from login to the desktop being fully displayed.