What is the best graphics tablet to buy?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by tchristie, Oct 28, 2005.

1. tchristie macrumors newbie

Hi There,

I am an architecture student that runs a 17" Powerbook as my laptop and a PC desktop for Autocad and games etc. I just impulse bought a graphics tablet in a shop for £60 and they assured me it was both mac and pc compatible however I've just got it home and realised it isn't. (Its a trust wireless scroll tablet TB-4200)

I'm thinking about taking it back but is it worth holding on to it and just using it on my PC? Or has anyone got any recommendations for a good mac/pc compatible tablet for a similar price. I've heard Wacom pads are very good but also insanely expensive, I just want to use it for photoshop and quick sketches.

Thanks for any help in advance

Tom

2. stoid macrumors 601

stoid

I'm thinking of upgrading to a larger tablet. I do graphic design work, and I've found that that the smallest Wacom Graphire3 tablet 4x5 is too small for my needs. I'm still debating though which tablet I want. I have a PowerBook, and so the new Bluetooth Graphire 6x8 tablet looks really really appealling since it would be more portable (less wires). However, I'm wondering if I ought to go ahead and get an Intuos tablet. I've heard that the Intuos feels more like paper or other traditional media, something to do with textures and friction.

I think that I just need to sit down and use an Intuos, but I don't know where to find one on display.

Long story short though, I might be willing to sell you a Graphire3 4x5 tablet for like $60 shipped.

3. qzak macrumors 6502

i'm a graphic design student and i have a Wacom Intuos3 connected to my 17" powerbook. love it. i definetly recommend Wacom.

4. Pausebasiks macrumors newbie