What is the best hardware for Media Center with XBMC or Plex?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by deckerinn, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. deckerinn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    Dear members.

    What is the best hardware for Media Center with XBMC or Plex?

    Br, Deckerinn
     
  2. roidy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    XBMC - Use a dedicated HTPC box and run the linux/windows version of XBMC.
    PLEX - Use a Mac Mini.

    If you want the option to run XBMC and PLEX on the same box then use a Mac Mini. If you only want XBMC then a PC based box is much cheaper.

    The ATV2 will run XBMC and a stripped down PLEX client but you asked for the best hardware, and while it's the cheapest option, it's not the best hardware.
     
  3. deckerinn
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    I am quite interested for Mac Mini and to have also Win 7 Pro installed on it as a backup if Mac Os update would lock the OS because their business is Itunes. Maybe I am paranoid but this has been the plan but would you recommend Mac Mini standard or Mac Mini Server?
     
  4. roidy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    You've already made a thread asking that question. I have no opinion as I don't use Macs at all.
     
  5. maturola
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Custom made HTPC (maybe AMD Llano or AMD E-350 based) would be the best hardware for it, you can build it to even support 3D bluray playback if you want to ( and have a 3D tv or plan to get one soon).
     
  6. Outrigger
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #6
    you're confusing os x with ios. updates for os x does not "lock" it in any way.
     

Share This Page