Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hajime

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
Hello, I have been using a Shure SE115 for a few years. It is quit good. Recently, I have to do my work in noisy public areas more often. Ear plug is not effective. I am looking for a headphone/earphone that can block all the noise in a noisy environment. Any suggestion? Ideally, the device can block all these noise even without me playing the music. Is there such a device?

Somebody in Apple store suggested the Bose QC20i. He said that even without turning on the music, the device has sound cancellation to remove all the noise in a noisy environment. He said that I do need to charge the device. As there is no demo in the store, I cannot verify its effectiveness.

Thanks.

helveta

macrumors regular
Mar 31, 2012
I've used the bose on ear noise cancelling headphones for years and have always been very happy with them. I recently got the in ear QC20i and like them too. I haven't done a side by side comparison but I don't think they block quite as much sound as the on ear version, but they're much more easy to carry and less noticeable. They do a very good job of blocking background noise. I even use them when I'm cutting the grass and can hear the music very well without turning the volume way up.

ToomeyND

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2011
My wife has the QC15, and I just got the redesigned beats studios. The Bose are much better at noise canceling. The beats have more base and feel much sturdier. I also like that they are charged via usb, so no more buying batteries. On the flip side, I'm at the mercy of the internal battery.

The noise canceling is decent, but the Bose are definitely better in that aspect. All other aspects, I am pleased with the beats.

martinm0

macrumors 6502a
Feb 27, 2010
Etymotic?