What is the bestestest graphics card for B+W PowerMac G3?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by princealfie, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #1
    I was thinking that the ATI Radeon 9200 PCI graphics card would be fabulous for having 2 monitor capability on my Blue and white PowerMac G3. Just wondering whether it's possible to have a better graphics card for the G3?

    I don't think that the Radeon 9600 will work in the G3. So I think that 9200 in one of the PCI slots (in addition to the original ATI Rage 128 for my AGP slot).

    Any ideas guys? :) Also are there any Nvidia graphics card with Mac G3?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    G3s do not have AGP - those are all PCI slots. You should fill them both with Radeon 9200s, or get a Radeon 9200 with two ports and put it into your accelerated slot (the one the ATI card comes installed in.

    Having a 9200 and a Rage at the same time is going to give you a pretty extreme difference in performance between your two displays.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #3
    NO luck removing the ATI Rage screw :( It was completely stripped. Any ideas how to get rid of it?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Drill through the shaft of the screw, w/ a drill bit that just fits into one of the other empty holes.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #5
    Sounds good. So no Nvidia graphics card that can beat the ATI Radeon 9200 and work with the G3?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Alari

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #6
    You can flash an FX5200 PCI, that will give you Core Image and a little better performance, but if you just wanna plug'n'play, get the Radeon 9200 Mac version.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Not on PCI
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    rhpenguin

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #8
  9. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    I still find that super hard to believe that he had to do nothing to get both QE and CI working - even with a System Profiler screen shot. If that was true, then I guess a Blue & White G3 looks a lot more attractive now. But I don't believe, and probably wouldn't unless it was sitting right in front of me (I had a B&W G3 for years and always had a tough time getting QE working right).
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    rhpenguin

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #10
    Its all about the PCIExtreme.. Its always worked flawlessly for me.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #11
    Did you flash the FX5200 using a PC or not?
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    rhpenguin

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #12
    Sure did.. I think i got the roms over at strange dogs.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #13
    Thanks I think that I will outsource someone to flash the rom onto the FX5200 for me then. It looks hard to do but Macdocs will take care of that for me :D
     

Share This Page