What is the lowest possible RAM for 10.5 on an eMac?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by chrismacguy, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hey,
    So Ive already got 10.5 working with just 128MB RAM, so I was wondering what you guys thought about it booting on 64MB. Is this a possibility? (The machine in question is either an eMac G4/700 or a PowerMac G4/450) The reason being I want to see if a) its possible and b) its useable with so little RAM :p . (Also, please note, that Im not going to buy more RAM as the G4/450 currently has 1GB and runs nicely, Im just attempting to test the waters in stupidly underpowered configurations, just to see whats possible).
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #2
    128 MB is the official minimum.

    You could just try it and see what happens. You can't really damage your computer in any way...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Im pretty sure that 512MB RAM is the minimum for OS X 10.5.8, which is what this slow thing runs, I know it wont harm it, I was just wondering if I should attempt 16MB or 32MB instead of 64/96 - the goal is to make it as low specced as possible, while running 10.5.8
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #4
    try 16mb then if that doesn't work keep putting in more ram till you find the minimum
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC
    #5
    The installer throws a fit if you are running less than 512Mb, and Apple's system requirements are always a little optimistic, but I have serious doubts about it booting with anything less than 256Mb of memory. All that universal code makes Leopard huge.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    They mentioned that they had it running with 128MB of RAM, however.

    To the OP, nothing wrong with giving it a shot with less RAM :)
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Proof that it runs on 128MB RAM: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yizcggvb7xs

    This was installed using Target Disk Mode from a G4 PowerBook with 1.5GB RAM, so it installed without a hitch, and as this video shows (about 2-3 mins in, apologies for me rambling) that 10.5.6 does indeed bootup with only 128MB RAM.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC
    #8
    Well done!

    I wasn't trying to call your bluff on this one, I just knew there were installer limitations. I thought perhaps the FireWire mode was the way to get around them. Once it's on the disk, there are no more checks.

    I still wouldn't want to try and use it though. :)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    Yeah, I wouldnt either, but as I said, its just a demo seeing just how low its possible to travel before 10.5 will just refuse to turn on. :cool:
     

Share This Page