What is the oldest MAC you use on Macrumors?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by 840quadra, Apr 17, 2005.

  1. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #1
    Just curious to see what some of the oldest Macintosh computers logging onto Macrumors are?

    I am currently logging in with a 40Mhz Quadra 840av (gotta justify my screen name) and am using iCab as my internet browser.

    While loading images is much slower then say, my G5, I am still impressed with how fast this little thing is, especially since it is 12 years old!!

    840
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    A G3 B&W 400 MHz

    But maybe logged on to Macrumors only once in 12 months time with that Mac.
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    00:11:24:2f:66:2e :D
     
  4. broken_keyboard macrumors 65816

    broken_keyboard

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Secret Moon base
    #4
    Hehe... as soon as I saw the thread title I clicked on the link to see who would be the first to make a comment about the all caps. It gets up my nose too.
     
  5. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #5
    Everyone likes to jum the all caps guy but giv'm some slack.
    Bondi blue imac 233mhz
     
  6. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    400 MHz iMac

    My mom uses that machine daily. Still going strong.

    Oldest machine I've used to come here has to be a 100 MHz HP Server that we retired from work a year ago. Up till the end, that machine was a Windows 2000 Server domain controller, NAT router, file server for an office of ten machines, and host for our website. Crazy.
     
  7. 840quadra thread starter Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #7
    Thanks, I guess I should have known better. The reminder dosen't bother me, I needed it! That reminds me when I point out that people at my work ask were they can get a replacement "NIC Card" for one of our managed servers.

    I always ask..

    "So you want a Network Interface Card Card ? We don't carry those."
     
  8. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #8
    Well, I'm posting this from my Quadra 950 which is 13 years old.

    So were did you got your 840 from? I got my 950 from Que back in 1998.
     
  9. Eastend macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    Nara, Japan
    #9
    I log in with 4 different computers. The oldest one is just now over 4 years old, Ti PowerBook 500 MHz and it does the job just fine.

    Brian
     
  10. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    I'm currently surfing MR on an old, but rarely used Mac Plus SE. Took 10 minutes just to load up MR. :(
     
  11. IanC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Essex
  12. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  13. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #13
    I'm using my main desktop Mac. My Power Mac dual 450 purchased September 1st 2000.
     
  14. 840quadra thread starter Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #14
    I bought the 840 in late 98 also!

    I have used it constantly since. It will surf the web at speeds similar to my Pentium 133 laptop, and does an awesome job of working with Video and Audio still to this day.
     
  15. 840quadra thread starter Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #15
    I only wish!!

    My SE was given to me.

    It was used in a school, and I have no access to control panels, or extensions. I also don't have any system disks this thing can read. I think it still has the older style drives.

    The only thing I can use my SE for is playing some of the games that are installed.
     
  16. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #16
    Oh. Is "maC" okay? "mac"? mAc"? "MaK"?
    I ReAllY tHinK it MaKES No DIFfErEnCe WHAT The ShiFT or CaPS LoCK Key iS DOInG.. We All KnOW WhaT We'RE TalkinG ABOuT HeRE, RiGHT?
     
  17. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #17
    PB G3 Pismo (Dual Firewilre USB)
    Probably made in 2000, I think I bought it in 2001, just after the TiBook came out, but couldn't afford that! :eek:
    Running Panther fine, considering taking the RAM to 768 :) (from 384 - couldn't quite believe when i found out it goes to 1GB :eek: the HD is only 12Gigs!) Battery a bit sad though these days :(
     
  18. 840quadra thread starter Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #18
    I am looking for one of those, and or an Orange (don't laugh) clamshell for doing picture dumps when doing Digital photo trips.

    I don't like lugging around my Work Dell anymore
     
  19. Maedus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Location:
    Indiana
    #19
    I'm using a PowerMac G3 Beige. It's my primary/only machine. :eek: Well, that is until the next iMac revisions. ;) I finally got the money for an iMac together and I figured if I could wait this long, I could wait a couple more months to get a revision with Tiger. :D
     
  20. wide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    Why not an iPod photo with dock and picture loader thing?
     
  21. 840quadra thread starter Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #21
    Not sure I can do the editing I need on an Ipod photo, plus a larger LCD is nice.

    I currently use (a much faster then an orange Ibook) Dell D505 for my portable trips. I also tend to bop into WIFI hot zones to dump pictures on my Server.. the Ipod will not be able to do that for a bit. We also need Adobe to make a version of Photoshop that will load on the Ipod and support the native Dual processors :D .
     

Share This Page