What is the origin of the name Apple?

Discussion in 'Community' started by Cheese, Mar 28, 2003.

1. Cheese macrumors 6502

Cheese

In the refrigerated section at your grocer
    My twelve year old daughter Gabby wants to know how the name Apple was conceived. I don't remember, though I'm sure I've been told before. As a noob, I am certain that there are more people interested in the answer to this question. I assured her that her second question, "where did the name microsoft come from?", was pointless, since all things MS should be obsolete by next year this time. Ah, what work there is in the proper upbringing of a young mind.

2. medea macrumors 68030

medea

"Steve Jobs had worked during the summer at an apple farm, and admired the Beatles' record label, Apple. He also believed Apples to be the most perfect fruit. He and Steve Wozniak were trying to figure out a name for their new company, and they decided that if they couldn't think of one by the end of the day that was better than Apple, they would choose Apple. They couldn't think of anything better, so on April 1, 1976, Apple Computer, Inc. was born.

But they needed a logo. The first design included Sir Isaac Newton, a tree and a banner that said "Apple Computer." Jobs decided they needed a less busy logo, one that would signify a brand. The second logo attempt was very similar to the current logo, but without the bite taken out of it. Jobs thought this logo looked too much like an orange. The third attempt was the logo that Apple still uses."

3. medea macrumors 68030

medea

sorry, forgot to post this pic.

Attached Files:

4. Cheese thread starter macrumors 6502

Cheese

In the refrigerated section at your grocer
    Many thanks to you for the very informative reply. I especially enjoyed the slightly ancient cover from Apple-1. BONUS!! I know that I can always count on MacRumors for the best info anywhere.

5. MacFan25 macrumors 68000

MacFan25

6. janey macrumors 603

janey