What is the point of the Logitech MX900 over the MX700?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by KevRC4130, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    Hey all,
    I know that the MX900 is one of the most popular mice here, but here is what I don't get... What is the point? I realise that the 900 has bluetooth and the 700 doesn't, but both have the dock, which acts as the bluetooth dongle, right? Both mice have the dock/charger plugged into the USB port, it's just that the 700's also acts as a reciever, right? So really they have the same amount of cords, take up the same amounts or ports, everything. I am probably (and hope I am wrong), so someone correct me.
     
  2. macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    well, if you have an internal bluetooth module, you don't *need* to have the dock plugged in to use the MX 900. You'd only need to plug it in to recharge.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #3
    actually you dont want the mx900 over the mx700 as the data rates for the mx900 are slower, therefore the mouse will lag.

    now, i would do what I did and get the mx1000, best damn mouse ever.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    here, here!
     
  5. macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #5
    Well, I wish they would sort BT out because its damn inconvienient for laptop users to have to put an RF dongle in everytime they want to use it.

    Is there really significant lag?
     
  6. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #6
    I second that. While I have an Apple BT (anyone want one, only 2 days use?) and Microsoft Wireless (Which I love), I couldn't resist one when I was in CompUSA the other day.

    The mouse has the best feel in your hand than any other mouse I've ever held. All buttons work as advertised and you can customize them all. Installation was a breeze and when I finally figured out why it wasn't working (on/off switch :rolleyes: ), I had the best damn mouse ever!
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #7
    oooh. It has an on/off switch? That looks like the next MX900 or MX1000 BT will have one too. Now just add OSX support and I'll get one instantly. Until then I'll just keep my MX700.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    thatwendigo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Sum, Ergo Sum.
    #8
    I've had my MX900 for at least a month, now, and I have no idea what the people who cry about 'lag' are talking about. The mouse feels as responsive as my corded USB optical was, tracks just as precisely (if not better), and the only issue I've ever had with it once USB Overdrive was installed was a loss of connection. I push two buttons, a few seconds pass, and I have my mouse functional once more.

    I've not really delved into Bluetooth peripherals all that much, but the MX900 works just fine for me.

    Edit:

    Rdowns - Does the newer model have a different version of Logitech Control Center? It did nothing but cripple the mouse when I installed it, which is why I'm using USB Overdrive.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #9
    Thanks. Mmm. Still think I'll wait a bit longer and see if the "LAZER" gets a BT option :)
     
  10. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #10
    That was my thought as I held the box in the store. Then I realized that a BT version will still have a charging cradle and need to be connected via USB. I saw no reason to wait.
     
  11. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #11
    No idea if it's a new version or not. Logitech Control Center 1.3.0 is the version.

    :rolleyes:

    Just doesn't feel right to have a post from you without the :rolleyes:

    :D
     
  12. macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #12
    Yep, if you use it just at home there is no reason to wait. For me, I would only upgrade my MX700 if they'd bring out a BT with an on/off button. The Lazer mouse as BT would be grealty appreciated by a lot of notebook users.
    But Logitech has never been very involved when comes to BT. They only offer 1! out of how many? Oh well, I am still hoping.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    thatwendigo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Sum, Ergo Sum.
    #13
    I downloaded and installed LCC 1.3.0, actually, and that's the version that not only didn't make the other five buttons work, but actually disabled the mouse itself. I had to unplug it and plug in my Apple mouse just to uninstall the program and restart so that it would be off my system.

    Thanks, Logitech. Your hardware's pretty awesome, but your drivers suck worse than listening to Dont Hurt Me.

    :rolleyes: (only partially for Rdowns :p)
     

Share This Page