What is wrong with my Internet: "Server not found"?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Hexakosioi, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. Hexakosioi, Feb 15, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #1
    Everything was just fine yesterday until midnight, when I got back home Internet browsers could not connect to servers (Firefox, Safari & Google Chrome). I just keep getting "Server not found". I'm on wireless connection. I've restarted both laptop & router multiple times. I then tried connecting through ethernet, still nothing.

    I called my ISP early morning today, I was on the phone with him for 15 min and he was more puzzeled than I. As he detects Internet traffic from my place and it shows that I am connected.

    I was however able to use Skype perfectly with excellent connection.

    I also typed http://74.125.43.106/ in the address bar, and Google succesfully loaded. So I am connected apperantly, I donnu whats up. I reald somewhere it could be a DNS issue, therefore you could flush it or something. I did that, yet no progress.

    I am using a MacBook Pro OS X 10.6.5

    Oh on a side note, there was a somewhat strong wind storm last night I thought that could have the cause of connection loss, but I kinda doubt it.

    Any help?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #2
    DNS settings

    I just tried opening a radio app on my laptop I have, and thought I'd see how it would respond, I clicked on a station and it said "a domain could not be resolved. Please make sure your DNS settings are correct"

    So I guess it is a DNS issue? What should I do?
     
  3. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    Try changing your DNS Servers (System Preferences -> Network) to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Google DNS) or 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 (OpenDNS). They may be more reliable than your ISP's, and will at least help you diagnose this issue.

    jW
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #4
    I've tried all of the above still no success.

    I tried this command I found : sudo changeip -checkhostname

    and I got a command not found

    This is so frustrating! And what the heck could of caused this?!
     
  5. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #5
    changeip is not a standard command in OS X Client (it's only in Server).
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
  7. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #7
    Do you have another computer (or phone over Wi-Fi) that you can try on the same connection?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #8
    No, this is the only computer. I am posting on here from my iPhone 3G network

    I don't think I'd be able to use wifi from iPhone as i don't remeber the pass for the network I created :p it is automatically signs up in my computer.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #9
    Contact your ISP again. You need them to come out and fix the issue.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #10
    I just did, they I should take it to tech guy or apple store.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #11
    "Server not found" - check router settings

    It sounds like it can't sort out where it should connect, in which case it might be worth checking the following:

    1. Are you using DHCP or a static address to connect? If you are "not" using DHCP - changing to it might help. If you are using a static address, check and make sure it's the correct address.

    2. If you are using wep or wpa/wpa2 security, it might balk because it is unable to connect and wants your user/password information. (If you are uncertain, I'd go into your router and determine what your settings are. The router address is determined by the manufacturer, typically something like 192.168.1.1. If you've never set the password it "might" be open to you, otherwise you might be able to google the standard password) Since you seem to be unable to connect using a cable, my bets are on this!

    Either way, getting into your router (with a cable) will give you a good headstart towards troubleshooting the issue.

    Good luck!
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #12
    What about this. Plug directly into your modem via Ethernet and test your connection. If you can get a connection then you know it is your router. Then just reset your router to default settings and go from there.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #13
    Umm I went to Futureshop and it couldn't connect to their network, same thing. They said they never seen anything like it and could not even diagnose the problem. I am gonna take it to the apple store, I mean they oughta know better.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    #14
    Shhh ok I got it working haha. It was Hands Off, an app like little snitch, it was for some reason blocking connection. I don't remember using it recently, weird.

    Anyways, thanks everyone for your time & help.


    Ciao
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #15
    My solution

    I had the same issue. Only a few random sites would not work and gave me a "Server Not Found" error. I fixed with:

    going into System Preferences > Network

    select Wi-Fi from the left

    click the Advanced... button

    select the DNS tab

    I had 2 entries here 4.4.2.2 and 4.2.2.2 (or something like that). I removed them with the "-" button at the bottom. Then I was able to connect to the websites I was getting errors on.
     

Share This Page