What just happened to my new Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Mjmar, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #1
    I just got a new 2012 Air and in the middle of using iMovie and having a few other apps opened the computer became unresponsive for about 5 minutes and then the screen just shut off. I tried to turn it on after it shut off, with no luck... Then about 5 minutes after that I pressed the power button and it turned on again. This is very strange to me because I had a white MacBook for 4 years nothing like this ever happened to it. Could anything be damaged inside of the Air? Should I see a genius? Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #2
    I think you need to upgrade to 8GB. Just messing.

    Rather than taking it to a Genius, I would just exchange it.

    BTW, was this an online purchase or in-store?
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    You can take it to a Genius Bar. However, you might see if there is a crash log. Click on Finder, and then hold the option key down while selecting the "Go" menu. Select the "Library," and then look for the Logs folder. Open it, and you will see a Crash Reporter folder. If there is one for today, that will help the Genius figure out what happened.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #4
    It was online. It's the 13/i7/8/256 version.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #5
    Thanks. I'm collecting data to see if more lemons are BTO macs or in-store configurations. I've long hypothesized that the BTO macs that Apple ships from their website are junk and more prone to failure on arrival. The data, despite a limited sample size, is currently supporting that hypothesis. :)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #6
    I knew I shouldn't have gotten 8gb of RAM. ;)
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Land of eternal Spring
    #7
    seems like it shut off due to temperature, it shouldn't happen, i'd take it in
     

Share This Page